has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

TouchWood Editions Fall 2017

more
  • Supply Detail (CA)

    Distributor: UTP Distribution Supplies to: CA Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 26, 2017 $22.00 CAD
  • Supply Detail (CA US)

    Distributor: Heritage Group Distribution Ltd. Supplies to: CA US Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 26, 2017 Carton Quantity: 32 $22.00 CAD
    $22.00 USD
  • Catalogues

A Thousand Consolations
By (author): Julie Roorda

ISBN:

9781927366653

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General/trade
Oct 03, 2017
$22.00 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.68 in | 1 gr

Page Count:

288 pages
TouchWood Editions
Brindle & Glass
FICTION / Literary
  • Short Description

Moving, entertaining, and witty, A Thousand Consolations is a literary romantic comedy for fans of David Nicholls’s Us and Emma Straub’s Modern Lovers.

Paula doesn’t put much faith in the candles she designs for her customers, which promise to cure everything from unrequited love to ingrown toenails; it’s just a business she started after her husband’s untimely death put an end to their joint dream of a career on the stage. Believing she may have somehow contributed to Teddy’s illness, Paula is too crippled by guilt to pursue the dream of acting on her own, and too bitter to believe she’ll ever be happy again.

Then she meets Héctor, a former concert pianist seeking refuge from the Mexican narcos who severed his fingers and threatened worse. With great charm and wit, Héctor seduces her into believing in a life in which hope coexists with disappointment, happiness with loss. Paula begins to believe that love is a possibility after all. But will Héctor be allowed to remain in Canada, or be sent back to an unknown fate?

A Thousand Consolations is a surprisingly funny novel in which virtuosity, philosophy, and humour endure despite the modern blights of refugee politics and the threat of narcoterrorism.

Moving, entertaining, and witty, A Thousand Consolations is a literary romantic comedy for fans of David Nicholls’s Us and Emma Straub’s Modern Lovers.

Paula doesn’t put much faith in the candles she designs for her customers, which promise to cure everything from unrequited love to ingrown toenails; it’s just a business she started after her husband’s untimely death put an end to their joint dream of a career on the stage. Believing she may have somehow contributed to Teddy’s illness, Paula is too crippled by guilt to pursue the dream of acting on her own, and too bitter to believe she’ll ever be happy again.

Then she meets Héctor, a former concert pianist seeking refuge from the Mexican narcos who severed his fingers and threatened worse. With great charm and wit, Héctor seduces her into believing in a life in which hope coexists with disappointment, happiness with loss. Paula begins to believe that love is a possibility after all. But will Héctor be allowed to remain in Canada, or be sent back to an unknown fate?

A Thousand Consolations is a surprisingly funny novel in which virtuosity, philosophy, and humour endure despite the modern blights of refugee politics and the threat of narcoterrorism.

Julie Roorda is the author of three volumes of poetry, a collection of stories, and a novel for young adults. Her fiction has appeared in periodicals across Canada including The Fiddlehead and The New Quarterly. Her story, “How to Tell if Your Frog is Dead,” was included in the 2014 Journey Prize Anthology. She lives in Saint Catharines.

  • Blurb confirmed and forthcoming from Karma Brown, international bestselling author of In This Moment,  The Choices We Make, and Come Away With Me.
  • Blurb confirmed and forthcoming from Ann Erikkson, author of The Performance, and High Clear Bell of Morning
  • Features and reviews targeting Publishers WeeklyBookListLibrary JournalKirkus ReviewsGlobe and Mail and the National Post.
  • Online promotion and publicity via Brindle & Glass Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and paid ads
  • Digital and Print ARCs available



For more information contact
[email protected]

In flowing, natural prose, Julie Roorda tells two intertwined love stories that illuminate the complexities of the human heart in a world touched by illness and cruelty. Often funny, always honest, A Thousand Consolations is a wonderful novel

- Ann Eriksson, author of The Performance

Reminiscent of Meg Wolitzer, Julie Roorda’s A Thousand Consolations is full of wit, insight, and stellar writing.

- Karma Brown, bestselling author of Come Away with Me

"Roorda . . . has a knack for witty dialogue and an eye for the sharp, smart details of friend and family dynamics . . . . The day-to-day moments of connection are where this novel really shines."

- Quill & Quire

of 9

Also Available

Happiness Economics Shari Lapena 9781897142547 $19.95 CAD Aug 03, 2011
Book Cover
Wings of a Bee Julie Roorda 9781894549684 $10.95 CAD Oct 19, 2007
The Dove in Bathurst Station Patricia Westerhof 9781927366141 $19.95 CAD Sep 17, 2013

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.