Governor General's Literary Awards 2019

more
  • 1. catalogue cover
    Five Wives A Novel Paperback Joan Thomas 9781443458542 $24.99 FICTION Sep 03, 2019
    WINNER OF THE GOVERNOR GENERAL'S LITERARY AWARD FOR FICTIONA GLOBE AND MAIL, CBC BOOKS, APPLE BOOKS, AND NOW TORONTO BEST BOOK OF THE YEARIn the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible and State of Wonder, a novel set in the rainforest of Ecuador about five women left behind when their missionary husbands are killed. Based on the shocking real-life eventsIn 1956, a small group of evangelical Christian missionaries and their families journeyed to the rainforest in Ecuador intending to convert the Waorani, a people who had never had contact with the ou... + Read More
  • 2. catalogue cover
    Series: Essential Prose Series Eye Paperback Marianne Micros 9781771832571 $20.00 FICTION Sep 01, 2018
  • 3. catalogue cover
    Late Breaking Paperback K.D. Miller 9781771962476 $19.95 FICTION Oct 02, 2018
  • 4. catalogue cover
    The Innocents Hardcover Michael Crummey 9780385685412 $32.95 FICTION Aug 27, 2019
  • 5. catalogue cover
    The Student Paperback Cary Fagan 9781988298443 $21.95 FICTION May 04, 2019
  • 6. catalogue cover
    To the River Losing My Brother Hardcover Don Gillmor 9780345814661 $29.95 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Dec 31, 2018
    WINNER OF THE GOVERNOR GENERAL'S LITERARY AWARD FOR NON-FICTIONAn eloquent and haunting exploration of suicide in which one of Canada's most gifted writers attempts to understand why his brother took his own life. Which leads him to another powerful question: Why are boomers killing themselves at a far greater rate than the Silent Generation before them or the generations that have followed?In the spring of 2006, Don Gillmor travelled to Whitehorse to reconstruct the last days of his brother, David, whose truck and cowboy hat were found at the ... + Read More
  • 7. catalogue cover
    City of Omens A Search for the Missing Women of the Borderlands Hardcover Dan Werb 9781635572995 $37.00 SOCIAL SCIENCE Jun 04, 2019
  • 8. catalogue cover
    Fryderyk Chopin A Life and Times Hardcover Dr. Alan Walker 9780374159061 $52.00 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Oct 16, 2018
  • 9. catalogue cover
    Sea Trial Sailing After My Father Paperback Brian Harvey 9781770414778 $21.95 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY May 07, 2019
  • 10. catalogue cover
    Series: Wayfarer Tiny Lights for Travellers Paperback Naomi K. Lewis 9781772124484 $26.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY May 15, 2019
  • 11. catalogue cover
    Holy Wild Paperback Gwen Benaway 9781771664394 $18.00 POETRY Sep 01, 2018
    Winner of the 2019 Governor General's Literary Award for PoetryFinalist for the 2019 Trillium Book Award for PoetryFinalist for the 2019 Lambda Literary Awards – Transgender Poetry CategoryFinalist for the 2019 Publishing Triangle Awards – Trans and Gender-Variant Literature CategoryLonglisted for the 2019 Pat Lowther Memorial AwardIn her third collection of poetry, Holy Wild, Gwen Benaway explores the complexities of being an Indigenous trans women in expansive lyric poems. She holds up the Indigenous trans body as a site of struggle, liberati... + Read More
  • 12. catalogue cover
    How to Avoid Huge Ships Paperback Julie Bruck 9781771314855 $20.00 POETRY Sep 01, 2018
  • 13. catalogue cover
    St. Boniface Elegies 1st edition Paperback Catherine Hunter 9781773240459 $17.95 POETRY Apr 01, 2019
  • 14. catalogue cover
    The Grand River Watershed A Folk Ecology Paperback Karen Houle 9781554471843 $19.95 POETRY Jun 28, 2019
  • 15. catalogue cover
    TREATY # Paperback Armand Garnet Ruffo 9781928088769 $18.00 POETRY Apr 02, 2019
  • 16. catalogue cover
    Other Side of the Game Paperback Amanda Parris 9781770919914 $17.95 DRAMA May 21, 2019
    I don’t think you can expect society to change if you’re not ready to take the first step. In the 1970s Beverly walks into an office of Black activists, wanting to join the Movement, and has to prove she’s committed enough to fight. Some forty years later, in the Hip Hop Generation, Nicole reunites with her ex-boyfriend on a basketball court, wondering where he’s been, when a police officer stops them. In this striking debut, Amanda Parris turns the spotlight on the Black women who organize communities, support their incarcerated loved ones, an... + Read More
  • 17. catalogue cover
    1 Hour Photo Paperback Tetsuro Shigematsu 9781772012156 $16.95 DRAMA Dec 07, 2018
  • 18. catalogue cover
    Thanks for Giving Paperback Kevin Loring 9781772012187 $19.95 DRAMA Dec 07, 2018
  • 19. catalogue cover
    Fighting Season, The Paperback Sean Oliver 9781927922507 $15.95 DRAMA Apr 01, 2019
  • 20. catalogue cover
    What a Young Wife Ought to Know Paperback Hannah Moscovitch 9781770919860 $17.95 DRAMA Aug 26, 2019
  • 21. catalogue cover
    Stand on the Sky Hardcover Erin Bow 9781443163798 $21.99 JUVENILE FICTION Age (years) from 9 - 12 Mar 05, 2019
    Stand on the Sky is the 2019 winner of the Governor General's Award for Children's Literature!A gripping new read from Erin Bow, acclaimed and bestselling author of Plain Kate and The Scorpion Rules!She had always heard that the eagle chooses the eagle hunter. She wanted that. She wanted her eagle to come to her. To choose her.It goes against all tradition for Aisulu to train an eagle, for among the Kazakh nomads, only men can fly them. But everything changes when Aisulu discovers that her brother, Serik, has been concealing a bad limp tha... + Read More
  • 22. catalogue cover
    Break in Case of Emergency A Novel Hardcover Brian Francis 9781443457705 $22.99 YOUNG ADULT FICTION Age (years) from 14 Sep 10, 2019
  • 23. catalogue cover
    Cold White Sun Hardcover Sue Farrell Holler 9781773060811 $18.95 YOUNG ADULT FICTION Age (years) from 14 Mar 01, 2019
  • 24. catalogue cover
    Girl of the Southern Sea Hardcover Michelle Kadarusman 9781772780819 $19.95 JUVENILE FICTION Age (years) from 9 - 12 May 02, 2019
  • 25. catalogue cover
    The Grey Sisters Hardcover Jo Treggiari 9780735262980 $21.99 YOUNG ADULT FICTION Age (years) from 12 Sep 24, 2019
  • 26. catalogue cover
    Small in the City Hardcover Sydney Smith 9781773061986 $19.95 JUVENILE FICTION Age (years) from 4 - 7 Sep 01, 2019
    The first picture book that the award-winning Sydney Smith has both written and illustrated is a story about feeling small in the city — and finding your way home.On a snowy day in a big city, a little boy hops off a streetcar and walks through downtown, between office buildings, through parks and down busy streets. Along the way, he provides helpful tips about which alleys make good shortcuts, which trees to climb and where to find a friendly face. All the while, the boy searches for what he has lost …The first book that award-winning illustra... + Read More
  • 27. catalogue cover
    Series: A Mile End Kids Story Albert's Quiet Quest Hardcover Isabelle Arsenault 9781101917626 $22.99 JUVENILE FICTION Age (years) from 4 - 8 May 07, 2019
  • 28. catalogue cover
    Birdsong Hardcover Julie Flett 9781771644730 $22.95 JUVENILE FICTION Age (years) from 3 - 8 Sep 30, 2019
  • 29. catalogue cover
    How to Give Your Cat a Bath in Five Easy Steps Hardcover Nicola Winstanley 9780735263543 $21.99 JUVENILE FICTION Age (years) from 3 - 7 Jan 22, 2019
  • 30. catalogue cover
    King Mouse Hardcover Cary Fagan 9780735264045 $21.99 JUVENILE FICTION Age (years) from 3 - 7 Sep 24, 2019
  • 31. catalogue cover
    Birds of a Kind Paperback Wajdi Mouawad 9781770919907 $18.95 DRAMA Apr 23, 2019
    Is it really important to cling to our lost identities? A terrorist attack in Jerusalem puts Eitan, a young Israeli-German genetic researcher, in a coma, while his girlfriend Wahida, a Moroccan graduate student, is left to uncover his family secret that brought them to Israel in the first place. Since Eitan’s parents erupted at a Passover meal when they realized Wahida was not Jewish, he has harboured a suspicion about his heritage that, if true, could change everything. In this sweeping new drama from the prolific Wajdi Mouawad, the Israeli-Pa... + Read More
  • 32. catalogue cover
    887 Paperback Robert Lepage 9781487003920 $19.95 DRAMA Apr 23, 2019
  • 33. catalogue cover
    Synapses Paperback Simon Brousseau 9781772012231 $16.95 FICTION May 15, 2019
  • 34. catalogue cover
    The Embalmer Paperback Anne-Renee Caille 9781552453780 $17.95 FICTION Nov 06, 2018
  • 35. catalogue cover
    Vi Paperback Kim Thúy 9780735272804 $18.95 FICTION Apr 02, 2019

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.