Penguin UK Summer 2016

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
  • 1. catalogue cover
    Moskva Paperback Jack Grimwood 9780718181567 $25.00 FICTION Jun 28, 2016
    Seven meets The Lives of Others in this outstanding serial killer thriller for fans of Gorky Park or Child 44.Christmas Eve 1985. The shaved, exsanguinated body of a young man is found in Red Square; frozen solid—like marble to the touch—missing the little finger from his right hand.A week later, Alex Marston, the fifteen-year-old daughter of the British Ambassador disappears. Army Intelligence Officer, Tom Fox, posted to Moscow following the death of his own daughter, is asked to help find her.But as Fox’s investigation drags him deeper toward... + Read More
  • 2. catalogue cover
    Edward VIII (Penguin Monarchs) The Uncrowned King Hardcover Piers Brendon 9780241196410 $27.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY May 24, 2016
    'After my death,' George V said of his eldest son and heir, 'the boy will ruin himself within twelve months.' The forecast proved uncannily accurate. Edward VIII came to the throne in January 1936, provoked a constitutional crisis by his determination to marry the American divorcée Wallis Simpson, and abdicated in December. He was never crowned king. In choosing the woman he loved over his royal birthright, Edward shook the monarchy to its foundations. Given the new title 'Duke of Windsor' and essentially sent into exile, he remained a visi... + Read More
  • 3. catalogue cover
    My Story Paperback Steven Gerrard 9781405924412 $16.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jun 28, 2016
  • 4. catalogue cover
    Tuesday Nights in 1980 Paperback 9780241248959 $22.99 FICTION Jun 28, 2016
  • 5. catalogue cover
    Somme Into the Breach Hardcover Hugh Sebag-Montefiore 9780670918386 $53.95 HISTORY Jul 26, 2016
    An extraordinary and fresh account of the most famous battle in World War One.No conflict better encapsulates all that went wrong on the Western Front than the Battle of the Somme in 1916. The tragic loss of life and stoic endurance by troops who walked towards their death is an iconic image which will be hard to ignore during the centennial year.Despite this, this book shows the extent to which the Allied armies were in fact able repeatedly to break through the German front lines. By focusing on the first-hand experiences of both Allied and en... + Read More
  • 6. catalogue cover
    The Battle of the Atlantic How the Allies Won the War Paperback Jonathan Dimbleby 9780241972106 $21.99 HISTORY Jun 28, 2016
    'Majestic. Truly gripping' Andrew Roberts The Battle of the Atlantic was the single most important - and longest - campaign of the Second World War. If Britain lost this vital supply route it lost the war. In Jonathan Dimbleby's brilliant and dramatic new account we see how this epic struggle for maritime mastery played out, from the politicians and admirals to the men on and under the sea and their families waiting at home. Filled with haunting and hair-raising stories of chases, ambushes, sinkings, stalkings, disasters and rescues, The Bat... + Read More
  • 7. catalogue cover
    As I Was Saying... Paperback Jeremy Clarkson 9781405924177 $16.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jun 28, 2016
  • 8. catalogue cover
    Agents of Empire Knights, Corsairs, Jesuits and Spies in the 16th-Century Mediterranean World Paperback Noel Malcolm 9780141978376 $27.99 HISTORY Jun 28, 2016
  • 9. catalogue cover
    The Last Days of Summer Paperback Vanessa Ronan 9781844883660 $27.99 FICTION Jun 28, 2016
  • 10. catalogue cover
    A Very English Scandal Sex, Lies and a Murder Plot at the Heart of the Establishment Paperback John Preston 9780241215739 $27.99 POLITICAL SCIENCE Jun 28, 2016
    An explosive investigation into the most shocking political scandal of the century.In 1979, Jeremy Thorpe, the rising star of the Liberal Party, stood trial for conspiracy to murder. It was the first time that a leading British politician had stood trial on a murder charge. It was the first time that a murder plot had been hatched in the House of Commons. And it was the first time that a prominent public figure had been exposed as a philandering homosexual.With all the pace and drama of a thriller, A Very English Scandal is an extraordinary sto... + Read More
  • 11. catalogue cover
    Dear Cathy... Love, Mary The Year We Grew Up - Tender, Funny and Revealing Letters from 1980s Ireland Paperback Catherine Conlon 9780241975220 $16.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jun 28, 2016
  • 12. catalogue cover
    Pulling the Strings My Autobiography Paperback Peter Stringer 9780241956113 $21.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jul 26, 2016
  • 13. catalogue cover
    London A Travel Guide Through Time Paperback Matthew Green Dr 9781405919142 $18.99 TRAVEL Jul 26, 2016
  • 14. catalogue cover
    Lying in Wait Paperback Liz Nugent 9781844883639 $27.99 FICTION Aug 23, 2016
  • 15. catalogue cover
    Series: Helen Grace Thriller, A Little Boy Blue DI Helen Grace 5 Paperback M. J. Arlidge 9780718180836 $16.99 FICTION Apr 26, 2016
  • 16. catalogue cover
    Troublesome Words Paperback Bill Bryson 9780241976050 $21.99 LANGUAGE ARTS & DISCIPLINES Jul 26, 2016
  • 17. catalogue cover
    To Hell and Back Europe, 1914-1949 Paperback Ian Kershaw 9780141980430 $27.99 HISTORY Jul 26, 2016
    Europe’s twentieth century was a century of war. It was an extraordinarily dramatic, tragic and endlessly fascinating period, its history one of huge upheaval and astounding transformation. During the twentieth century, Europe went to hell and back.In the summer of 1914 most of Europe plunged into a war so catastrophic that it unhinged the continent’s politics and beliefs in a way that took generations to recover from. The disaster terrified its survivors, shocked that a civilization that had blandly assumed itself to be a model for the rest of... + Read More
  • 18. catalogue cover
    Zodiac Paperback Sam Wilson 9780718181536 $27.99 FICTION Sep 27, 2016
    A serial killer thriller with one of the best high-concept ideas of the year.A series of uniquely brutal murders targets victims from totally different walks of life. In a society divided according to Zodiac signs, those differences are cast at birth and binding for life.All eyes are on Detective Jerome Burton and astrological profiler Lindi Childs—divided in their beliefs over whether the answer is written in the stars but united in their conviction that there is an ingenious serial killer executing a grand plan.Together, they will unravel a d... + Read More
  • 19. catalogue cover
    The Penguin Lessons A True Story Paperback Tom Michell 9781405921800 $16.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jul 26, 2016
    A unique, true story about a penguin living at a boarding school with the teacher who saves its life.When schoolteacher Tom Michell pulls a penguin from an oil slick off the coast of Uruguay he has no idea what to do.Back at his apartment Tom cleans him, but upon returning to the beach the penguin refuses to return to the ocean. Tom has one option: to smuggle the penguin over the Argentinian border to the prestigious boarding school Tom calls home.There follows a heartwarming story of one remarkable penguin, who adapts to boarding school life. ... + Read More
  • 20. catalogue cover
    Edward III (Penguin Monarchs) Hardcover Jonathan Sumption 9780241184202 $27.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jul 26, 2016
    Part of the Penguin Monarchs series: short, fresh, expert accounts of England’s rulers in a collectible format.Edward III ruled England for fifty years. He was a paragon of kingship in the eyes of his contemporaries, the perfect king in those of later generations. Venerated as the victor of Sluys and Crécy and the founder of the Order of the Garter, he was regarded with awe even by his enemies. But he lived too long, and was ultimately condemned to see thirty years of conquests reversed in less than five. In this gripping new account of Edward ... + Read More
  • 21. catalogue cover
    The Swimming Pool Paperback Louise Candlish 9781405919876 $16.99 FICTION Aug 23, 2016
  • 22. catalogue cover
    The Penguin History of Vietnam Hardcover Christopher Goscha 9781846143106 $53.95 HISTORY Jul 26, 2016
  • 23. catalogue cover
    The Wrong Hand Paperback Jane Jago 9781405920414 $16.99 FICTION Jul 26, 2016
  • 24. catalogue cover
    How the French Think An Affectionate Portrait Of An Intellectual People Paperback Sudhir Hazareesingh 9780241961063 $21.99 HISTORY Jul 26, 2016
  • 25. catalogue cover
    How to Plan a Crusade Reason and Religious War in the High Middle Ages Paperback Christopher Tyerman 9780241954652 $22.99 HISTORY Oct 25, 2016
  • 26. catalogue cover
    The Moon's a Balloon Paperback David Niven 9780241976661 $21.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Nov 22, 2016
  • 27. catalogue cover
    The Great British Dream Factory Paperback Dominic Sandbrook 9780141979304 $27.99 MUSIC Oct 25, 2016
  • 28. catalogue cover
    Landscapes of Communism A History Through Buildings Paperback Owen Hatherley 9780141975894 $31.99 ARCHITECTURE Jul 26, 2016
  • 29. catalogue cover
    A History of Ancient Egypt, Volume 2 From the Great Pyramid to the Fall of the Middle Kingdom Hardcover John Romer 9781846143793 $63.95 HISTORY Jan 24, 2017
  • 30. catalogue cover
    The Design Museum in a Box 100 Carefully Curated Postcards Paperback Deyan Sudjic 9781846148705 $25.99 ANTIQUES & COLLECTIBLES Nov 22, 2016
  • 31. catalogue cover
    The Art of Flight & the Raisin King Hardcover Fredrik Sjoberg 9781846147999 $31.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jul 26, 2016
  • 32. catalogue cover
    The Cols and Passes of the British Isles Hardcover Graham Robb 9781846148736 $42.95 HISTORY Jul 26, 2016
  • 33. catalogue cover
    Memoir Paperback Chris Robshaw 9780718180188 $16.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jul 26, 2016
  • 34. catalogue cover
    The Man Who Made Things Out of Trees Paperback Robert Penn 9780141977515 $18.99 NATURE Jul 26, 2016
  • 35. catalogue cover
    Kid Gloves A Voyage Round My Father Paperback Adam Mars-Jones 9781846148774 $21.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Jul 26, 2016
  • 36. catalogue cover
    Hot Little Hands Fiction Paperback Abigail Ulman 9780241974902 $18.99 FICTION Sep 27, 2016
  • 37. catalogue cover
    Front Runner A Dick Francis Novel Paperback Felix Francis 9781405915212 $16.99 FICTION Aug 23, 2016
  • 38. catalogue cover
    Turner The Extraordinary Life and Momentous Times of J.M.W. Turner Hardcover Franny Moyle 9780670922697 $53.95 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Aug 23, 2016
  • 39. catalogue cover
    The Silk Merchant's Daughter Paperback Dinah Jefferies 9780241248621 $16.99 FICTION Aug 23, 2016
  • 40. catalogue cover
    Augustus The Biography Paperback Jochen Bleicken 9780140294828 $21.99 BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Aug 23, 2016
  • 41. catalogue cover
    Pop Art A Colourful History Paperback Alastair Sooke 9780241973066 $18.99 ART Aug 23, 2016
  • 42. catalogue cover
    The Language of Cities Hardcover Deyan Sudjic 9780241188040 $53.95 ARCHITECTURE Nov 22, 2016
  • 43. catalogue cover
    The Forgotten Summer Paperback Carol Drinkwater 9781405924146 $16.99 FICTION Oct 25, 2016
  • 44. catalogue cover
    The Card A Story of Adventure in the Five Towns Paperback Arnold Bennett 9780241255544 $18.99 FICTION Aug 23, 2016

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.