Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

GREEN - Doubleday Canada Publishing Group

more
  • Other Formats

    9780385683067 9780385683050 Electronic book text, EPUB 9780385695534 Downloadable audio file, $29.95 CAD 9780385695541 Downloadable audio file
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Not yet available On Sale Date:Sep 14, 2020 Carton Quantity:12
  • Catalogues

Forest Green
By (author): Kate Pullinger
9780385683043 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Literary Sep 14, 2020
$29.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.5 x 8.25 x 0.59 in 240 pages Doubleday Canada
For readers of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler, a powerful, heartrending novel about a man on the run from himself, by Governor General’s Award-winning author Kate Pullinger.

On a rain-soaked Vancouver sidewalk in 1995, a homeless man fights for breath. Forest Green is the story of how he ended up there.

Arthur Lunn is a golden boy who spends long summer days roaming the hills and swimming in the lakes of the Okanagan Valley. But the Great Depression is destroying lives, even in Art’s remote and bucolic hometown. Soon, Art finds himself caught up in a battle between the town and the vagrants flowing through it, and before long the tension reaches a boiling point.

A catastrophe follows—and changes everything. The trauma from this event shapes and haunts Art’s life moving forward, from his experiences as a soldier in World War II to his reckless, nomadic working days in logging camps across British Columbia to his turbulent relationship with his one great love—a woman he cannot believe he deserves.

Painful, poignant, yet full of hope, Forest Green explores how trauma can warp our lives while love can help us to mend.

Story Locale: British Columbia (Okanagan, Charlotte Islands, Vancouver) and Italy

KATE PULLINGER grew up in British Columbia. In 2009, her novel The Mistress of Nothing won the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction. Her prize-winning digital fiction projects include the ground-breaking title for children Inanimate Alice and, most recently, a ghost story for smartphones, Breathe. Flight Paths: A Networked Novel was the inspiration for her 2014 novel, Landing Gear. She is currently Professor of Creative Writing and Digital Media at Bath Spa University, England. Forest Green is her tenth novel.

Author Residence: London, UK

Author Hometown: Cranbrook and Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Marketing: Focus of Penguin Random House Canada/Doubleday Canada social accounts

Goodreads Giveaways

Facebook advertising



Publicity: Canadian tour (cities tbc)

Review coverage

Long lead women’s magazines



Author Website: www.katepullinger.com

Author Social Media: Twitter: @katepullinger

Advance Praise for Forest Green:

"Kate Pullinger renders Art Lunn's tumultuous life in episodes that have the clarity of tree rings. This slim, engrossing novel holds worlds, and its complicated central character is offered up to us with deep and unwavering empathy." —Catherine Bush, bestselling author of The Rules of Engagement, Claire's Head and Blaze Island

"At the same time intimate and sweeping, Forest Green tells the story of a single man's life, and the history of a family, an industry, a nation. Pullinger expertly and sensitively reveals the different stages of her character's life, and the way it has been shaped by both inside and outside pressures." —Johanna Skibsrud, award-winning author of The Sentimentalists and Island

"Childhood wonder and promise collide with a day whose lifelong repercussions Springsteen might have penned had he decided to turn to prose and reimagine Nesbit's The Railway Children. Pullinger's new novel is a freedom song for the working man." —Kathleen Winter, #1 bestselling author of Annabel and Lost in September

"I read Forest Green in one go, gripped and charmed and moved by its Everyman logger protagonist and all he lives through." —Emma Donoghue, bestselling author of The Wonder and Room

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.