has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

GREEN - Doubleday Canada Publishing Group

more
  • Other Formats

    9780385696975 9780593552896 Downloadable audio file 9780385696968 EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: Jan 18, 2022 Carton Quantity: 24 $22.95 CAD
  • Catalogues

Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?

ISBN:

9780385696951

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General/trade
Jan 18, 2022
$22.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.98in x 6.02 x 1 in | 0.98 lb

Page Count:

384 pages
Doubleday Canada
FICTION / Romance / Multicultural & Interracial
“Modern and fresh…I adore Yinka” Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation



Meet Yinka: a thirty-something, Oxford-educated, British Nigerian woman with a well-paid job, good friends, and a mother whose constant refrain is “Yinka, where is your huzband?”


Yinka’s Nigerian aunties frequently pray for her delivery from singledom, her work friends think she’s too traditional (she’s saving herself for marriage!), her girlfriends think she needs to get over her ex already, and the men in her life…well, that’s a whole other story. But Yinka herself has always believed that true love will find her when the time is right.



Still, when her cousin gets engaged, Yinka commences Operation Find-A-Date for Rachel’s Wedding. Aided by a spreadsheet and her best friend, Yinka is determined to succeed. Will Yinka find herself a huzband? And what if the thing she really needs to find is herself?



Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? brilliantly subverts the traditional romantic comedy with an unconventional heroine who bravely asks the questions we all have about love. Wry, acerbic, moving, this is a love story that makes you smile but also makes you think—and explores what it means to find your way between two cultures, both of which are yours.

Story Locale: London, UK

A STORY OF IDENTITY: Yinka must balance her Nigerian family’s traditional values against her friends’ modern sensibilities. Yinka is her own person—she won’t compromise her beliefs for anyone. She is a relatable, witty, strong-willed heroine readers will root for.

A FRESH VOICE IN CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Lizzie Damilola Blackburn shares a British-Nigerian identity with her main character, and she draws from her own experiences to fill the novel with authentic detail. Contemporary romance readers are eager for better representation in the genre, and Blackburn delivers in a big way.

TACKLES TIMELY ISSUES: As Yinka makes decisions about her life—what kind of person she’ll love and what kind of person she wants to be—she grapples with timely issues such as society’s standards of beauty, colorism, cultural expectations, and pressures to settle down.

BUILDABLE DEBUT AUTHOR: We immediately fell in love with Yinka—with her sharp insights and charm, Blackburn is destined to become a beloved author of contemporary romance.

Born and raised in London, Lizzie Damilola Blackburn is a British-Nigerian writer who won the Literary Consultancy Pen Factor Writing Competition in 2019 with an early draft of her debut novel. She has been on the receiving end of the question in the title of her novel many times, and now lives with her husband in Milton Keynes, England.  

Author Residence: Milton Keynes, UK

Author Hometown: London, UK, and Kent, UK

Author Social Media: Twitter: @DamilolaLizzie; Instagram: @LizzieDamilolaBlackburn

“So modern and fresh. Like Bridget Jones, Yinka is a lovable and relatable disaster—which is to say, she isn’t actually a disaster at all…I adore her.” —Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation

Yinka, Where is Your Huzband? was a total joy to read—it’s hilarious, insightful and so uplifting. Yinka is the most lovable character I’ve come across in a long time—I was cheering her on for every step of her journey.” —Beth O’Leary, international bestselling author of The Road Trip

“Blackburn’s lighthearted tone helps deliver heavy thoughts on colorism, the tension of cultural differences and the benefits of therapy, as the story moves toward a happy ending on all fronts. [Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?] delivers loads of entertainment and a dollop of enlightenment.” Publishers Weekly

“A sassy, spirited story.” Kirkus Reviews

“A laugh-out-loud story of self-discovery, set against the world of contemporary dating…. Fans of Uzma Jalaluddin and Sonya Lalli will delight in this story of a one of a kind woman learning how to love one of the most important people in her life: herself.” Booklist

“Fresh, heartfelt and funny, Yinka is a can’t miss debut that feels like a new classic.” BuzzFeed

“Cheeky and entertaining, the novel…packs in a whole lot of cross-cultural drama and social commentary with an easy-going, conversational style…. Comedic gold.” StarTribune

“A perfect depiction of how a Black woman’s search for love can lead to disastrous results if it’s not rooted in self-acceptance. What starts out as a detailed plan to get a date for a cousin’s wedding turns into a cautionary tale of the pernicious effects of sexism, racism and colorism upon women of the African diaspora.” —USA Today

“Beautifully observed, warm and deeply human, Yinka is a meditation on family and friendship, on love and self-love. Feel-good, funny and clever, it’s got smash-hit written all over it!” —Josie Silver, New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December
 
Yinka, Where is Your Huzband? is a beautiful, big hearted story about friendship, family, and love. Yinka’s charming voice draws you in and her journey toward self-acceptance will make you stay. A fun and relatable read.” —Emiko Jean, New York Times bestselling author
 
“A warm, witty, and joyful novel bursting with charm and unforgettable characters, this is a story about friendship, family, romance, and the most important quest of all—loving and accepting yourself.” —Lauren Ho, author of Last Tang Standing

“Blackburn deftly immerses us in the life of a loveable Yinka as she straddles two cultures in her search for a ’huzband.’ Smart, sophisticated, and fresh this is the ’girl gets herself’ type of story I love to read!” —Jayne Allen, author of Black Girls Must Die Exhausted

“Spreadsheets, meddling aunties, and makeovers…. Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? is a delightful journey of a British Nigerian woman longing to find love, and to love herself. Reader, you’ll root for Yinka the whole way.” —Patricia Park, author of Re Jane

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.