has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ORANGE - Berkley

more
  • Other Formats

    9780399587931 Reflowable, EPUB 9780525530954 Downloadable audio file
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AL AM AO AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IR IS IT JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MQ MR MV MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NP NU OM PA PE PF PH PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF YE YT Not for sale in: AG AI AQ AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO IQ JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LK LS MS MT MU MW MY MZ NA NG NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SD SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU WS ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: Apr 03, 2018 Carton Quantity: 24 $23.00 CAD
    $17.00 USD
  • Catalogues

Other People's Houses
By (author): Abbi Waxman
Abbi Waxman

Imprint:

Berkley

ISBN:

9780399587924

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General / adult
Apr 03, 2018
$23.00 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5.3 x 0.9 in | 0.62 lb

Page Count:

352 pages
Berkley
FICTION / Women
“Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin

Named A Highly Anticipated Book for 2018 by InStyle online, Elite Daily, and Hello Giggles!

One of Popsugar’s “10 Books Your Favorite Celebrities Are Reading This Spring”

The author of The Garden of Small Beginnings returns with a hilarious and poignant new novel about four families, their neighborhood carpool, and the affair that changes everything.


At any given moment in other people’s houses, you can find…repressed hopes and dreams…moments of unexpected joy…someone making love on the floor to a man who is most definitely not her husband…

*record scratch*

As the longtime local carpool mom, Frances Bloom is sometimes an unwilling witness to her neighbors’ private lives. She knows her cousin is hiding her desire for another baby from her spouse, Bill Horton’s wife is mysteriously missing, and now this…

After the shock of seeing Anne Porter in all her extramarital glory, Frances vows to stay in her own lane. But that’s a notion easier said than done when Anne’s husband throws her out a couple of days later. The repercussions of the affair reverberate through the four carpool families—and Frances finds herself navigating a moral minefield that could make or break a marriage.

Story Locale: Los Angeles, CA

TRADE PAPERBACK ORIGINAL FROM AN AUTHOR TO WATCH: The second novel from Abbi Waxman is just as charming and un-put-down-able as her debut, The Garden of Small Beginnings

A CLEVER SETUP: Waxman uses a neighborhood carpool to explore the meaning of family, friendship, and happiness—all with her trademark wit and heart

FRESH AND FUNNY: The author’s background in advertising gives her a distinctive voice that will have readers laughing out loud even as she pulls on their heartstrings

INDIE NEXT AUTHOR: Waxman’s debut novel The Garden of Small Beginnings is beloved by independent booksellers and was chosen as an Indie Next Pick for May 2017

HUGE BUZZ:The Garden of Small Beginnings also received starred reviews from Library Journal and Kirkus Reviews and was chosen as a Publishers Lunch Buzz Book

SMART AND FUNNY WOMEN’S FICTION: For readers of Jane Green, Elin Hilderbrand, Lauren Weisberger, and Taylor Jenkins Reid

PERFECT FOR BOOK CLUBS: Includes a readers guide

Abbi Waxman, the author of The Garden of Small Beginnings, is a chocolate-loving, dog-loving woman who lives in Los Angeles and lies down as much as possible. She worked in advertising for many years, which is how she learned to write fiction. She has three daughters, three dogs, three cats, and one very patient husband.

Author Residence: Los Angeles, CA

Marketing: National print publicity

Online publicity campaign

Author blog tour

Prepub trade advertising

Online advertising campaign

Email marketing campaign

ARC distribution and giveaways

IndieBound campaign

Goodreads campaign

NetGalley campaign

Early reader review campaign

Social media campaign

Consumer sweepstakes

Library marketing campaign

Book club outreach

Discussion guide bound in book

Feature on Read it Forward, First to Read

abbiwaxman.com

Facebook.com/abbiwaxmanbooks

Twitter @amplecat



Author Website: abbiwaxman.com

Author Social Media: Facebook.com/abbiwaxmanbooks; Twitter @amplecat

Praise for Other People’s Houses 
Named A Highly Anticipated Book for 2018 by InStyle online, Elite Daily, and Hello Giggles • One of Popsugar’s “10 Books Your Favorite Celebrities Are Reading This Spring”

“We absolutely adored Abbi Waxman’s The Garden of Small Beginnings. And if it’s possible, we’re even more in love with her much-anticipated follow-up, Other People’s Houses. April’s book club pick is set in stone.”—Hello Giggles

“Meet your new favorite wry writer.”—The Daily Beast

“Hilarious ruminations about child-rearing, shopping, and other parents give [Other People’s Houses] broad appeal that should extend beyond fans of Waxman’s first novel.”—Publishers Weekly

“Once again, Waxman manages to take a far-reaching topic and sprinkle it with spicy dialogue, adorable kids, and characters who feel like best friends…Frances is equal parts warmth and snark as she considers her friends and neighbors through the lens of TMI. Recommend to those who like to turn pages quickly without sacrificing complex characters.”—Booklist

Praise for The Garden of Small Beginnings

As seen in Elle.com, The Washington Post, Woman’s World, Flavorwire, HelloGiggles, Bustle, Brit & Co, and more!
 
“Filled with characters you’ll love and wish you lived next door to in real life.”—Bustle
 
“Brilliant…Quirky yet very real characters sparkle on every page.”—Karen White, New York Times bestselling author
 
“A quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful bookl.”—HelloGiggles
 
“A summer beach read with meat.”—Associated Press
 
“This is my favorite kind of book—hilarious, sad, joyful. Beautifully written. Fun. I dare you not to enjoy it.”—Julia Claiborne Johnson, author of Be Frank With Me
 
“A beautiful book full of humor, heart, and deep insight…Abbi Waxman’s quick wit and heart shine brightly throughout this debut novel. I just loved it!”—Molly Shannon, actress
 
“Funny and poignant. Guaranteed to make you laugh and cry. May make you want to play in dirt and grow a new life of your own.”—Wendy Wax, USA Today bestselling author of One Good Thing
 
“Full of wry humor and a cleareyed view of how life keeps offering good things…This debut begs for an encore from Waxman.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 
 
“[Waxman’s] narrative and dialog are drenched with spring showers of witty and irreverent humor.”—Library Journal (starred review)

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.