Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

BLUE - Crown Publishing Group

more
  • Other Formats

    9781984823663 9780451499066 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $23 CAD 9780451499073 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9781524781156 Downloadable audio file, $27 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AE AF AI AM AO AQ AR AW AZ BF BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV CD CF CG CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO DZ EC EG EH ER ET FM GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HK HM HN HT ID IL IQ IR JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LR LY MA MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU OM PA PE PF PM PS PW PY QA RE RW SA SD SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UY UZ VE VN WF YT Not for sale in: AD AG AL AT AU AX BA BB BD BE BG BM BN BS BW BY BZ CC CH CM CX CY CZ DE DK DM EE ES FI FJ FK FO FR GB GD GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HR HU IE IM IN IO IS IT JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LI LK LS LT LU LV MC MD ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ PG PK PL PN PT RO RS RU SB SC SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UA UG VA VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date: Jul 11, 2017 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

Conversations with Friends
A Novel
By (author): Sally Rooney
9780451499059 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Literary Jul 11, 2017
$35.00 CAD
Active 5.8 x 8.5 x 1.17 in 320 pages Hogarth
 
Desmond Elliott Prize 2018, Long-listed Folio Fiction/Poetry Awards 2018, Short-listed Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award 2018, Short-listed The Dylan Thomas Prize 2018, Short-listed
An intimate, sharply intelligent debut about two college students and the strange, unexpected connection they forge with a married couple

Frances is twenty-one years old, cool-headed, and darkly observant. A college student and aspiring writer, she devotes herself to a life of the mind—and to the beautiful and endlessly self-possessed Bobbi, her best friend and comrade-in-arms. Lovers at school, the two young women now perform spoken-word poetry together in Dublin, where a journalist named Melissa spots their potential. Drawn into Melissa’s orbit, Frances is reluctantly impressed by the older woman’s sophisticated home and tall, handsome husband. Private property, Frances believes, is a cultural evil—and Nick, a bored actor who never quite lived up to his potential, looks like patriarchy made flesh. But however amusing their flirtation seems at first, it gives way to a strange intimacy neither of them expect. As Frances tries to keep her life in check, her relationships increasingly resist her control: with Nick, with her difficult and unhappy father, and finally even with Bobbi. Desperate to reconcile herself to the desires and vulnerabilities of her body, Frances’s intellectual certainties begin to yield to something new—a painful and disorienting way of living from moment to moment.

A startlingly intimate novel written with gem-like precision and probing intelligence, Conversations with Friends is wonderfully alive to the pleasures and dangers of youth.

Story Locale: Dublin, Ireland

SALLY ROONEY was born in the west of Ireland in 1991. She studied English at Trinity College, Dublin, and her writing has been featured in The Dublin Review, The Stinging Fly, and Granta.

Author Residence: Dublin, Ireland

Marketing: Online advertising campaign

Social media advertising campaign

Reading group outreach

Early reads giveaways (Read It Forward, Goodreads, Amazon Vine, LibraryThing)

eGalley available



Publicity: National publicity

National review and feature attention

National and regional NPR campaign



Author Social Media: @sallyrooney

“Smart and perceptive.”—Minneapolis Star-Tribune

“The self-deceptions of a new generation are at the core of Sally Rooney’s debut, Conversations with Friends, which captures something wonderfully odd-cornered and real in the story of an Irish millennial.”—Megan O’Grady, Vogue

“A bracing, miraculous debut.”The Millions

“Sally Rooney’s debut novel is a remarkably charming exploration of that very uncharming subject: the human ego. . . . Conversations with Friends sparkles with controlled rhetoric. But it ends up emphasizing the truths exploding in the silences.”Slate

“Rooney’s exploration of growing out of naïveté is true to life, sometimes painfully so, and anyone who has thrived on created drama, who has imagined higher stakes than exist, will see a bit of themselves.”BuzzFeed

“An insightful look at what it’s like to be young, smart, and deeply confused about friendship and love . . . It’s like an Ask Polly letter in the form of a novel, in the best possible way.”The Cut

“Rooney expertly captures what it’s like to be young today: the conversations flow seamlessly from email to text message to unspoken glance, the sexual and creative confidence, the admiration for older men who write emails written in all lowercase. Her first person narrator, the twenty-one-year-old Frances, is a constant, careful observer, and yet Rooney leaves room for the reader to see all the things Frances herself does not.”The Paris Review

“In this searing, insightful debut, Rooney offers an unapologetic perspective on the vagaries of relationships . . . a treatise on married life, the impact of infidelity, the ramifications of one’s actions, and how the person one chooses to be with can impact one’s individuality. Throughout, Rooney’s descriptive eye lends beauty and veracity to this complex and vivid story.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Readers who enjoyed Belinda McKeon’s Tender and Caitriona Lally’s Eggshells will enjoy this exceptional debut.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“A smart, sexy, realistic portrayal of a woman finding herself.”Booklist (starred review)

“[Sally] Rooney has managed to take something old, the romance novel, and make it new: Frances is a bisexual communist student, allergic to expressing emotion, and her love affair is with a married man, and yet the book makes no attempt to make a moral stand on fidelity or punish its characters for their passions. The effect is, frankly, riveting, and creates a peculiar sensation of danger. An addictive read.”—Rufi Thorpe, author of The Girls from Corona del Mar and Dear Fang, with Love

“Sally Rooney’s writing is cool, wry, and smooth and gives the reader a sense of being in the lucky position of overhearing not only what fascinating strangers are talking about, but also what they’re thinking. I was riveted ’til the last page.”—Emily Gould, author of Friendship

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.