Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ORANGE - Penguin Young Readers

more
  • Other Formats

    9781984815859 9781984815842 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Aug 04, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $23.99 CAD
    $17.99 USD
  • Catalogues

Every Little Letter
By (author): Deborah Underwood Illustrated by: Joy Hwang Ruiz
9780525554028 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 4 - 8, Grade (US) from P - 3 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism Aug 04, 2020
$23.99 CAD
Active 9.44 x 10.3 x 0.42 in | 1 lb 40 pages FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS Dial Books for Young Readers Dial Books
For fans of The Word Collector and Be Kind comes a story of words, walls, and widening your world, by New York Times bestselling author Deborah Underwood

Small h has always lived with the other H’s in a city surrounded by walls that keep them safe. At least, that’s what the big H’s say. But one day, a hole in the wall reveals someone new on the other side. When little h and little i meet, they make a small word with big meaning: “hi!” The other H’s find out, though. They fill the hole. But it won’t be enough to keep these little letters apart—or twenty-four of their newest friends. Every Little Letter shows how even the smallest among us can make a big impact, and how a single act of friendship can inspire whole communities to come together. How do you tear down walls? With words, at first. Then brick by brick.

Conversation starter: Like The Wall in the Middle of the Book and I Walk with Vanessa, this is a perfect kid-level choice for early discussions about inclusion, empathy, and cooperation.

Small but strong: Every Little Letter empowers kids to see that they are the change-makers. Their curiosity, bravery, and teamwork are their greatest strengths as friends and leaders.

The alphabet at work: Text and art cleverly use the letters of the alphabet and simple words to make a powerful point—a joy for kids just learning their letters and for those who already read.

Read it again: Each new read reveals more delicious details in the artwork that kids and their adults will delight in discovering.

Exciting debut artist: Joy Hwang Ruiz’s fresh illustration style perfectly captures the warmth, wonder, creativity, and courage of these little letters. Joy has 28,000 followers on Instagram (@momisdrawing) and her art has been featured on HuffPost and Disney’s Babble.

The beloved Deborah Underwood: Deborah has garnered starred reviews, New York Times best seller status, many spots on state lists, and the admiration of teachers, librarians, booksellers, parents, and kids across the country.

Deborah Underwood believes that every letter is important and that even the littlest letter can make pig changes—oops, big changes. (See?) Deborah’s picture books include The Panda Problem, Walrus in the Bathtub, Finding Kindness, Interstellar Cinderella, and New York Times bestsellers Here Comes the Easter Cat and The Quiet Book.

Author Residence: San Francisco, CA

Author Hometown: Walla Walla, WA

Joy Hwang Ruiz is an illustrator and artist who started @momisdrawing on Instagram to capture the magic of new parenthood. Her illustrations are inspired by the love and fleeting, funny moments families share, and celebrate Joy's passion for diversity. As an immigrant to the U.S. whose family was separated when she was a young woman, Joy knows first-hand the importance of tearing down walls. She lives with her family in Southern California. Every Little Letter is her first picture book.

Illustrator Residence: Ladera Ranch, CA

Marketing: National media campaign

Consumer and trade advertising

Included in downloadable preschool coloring pages pack with OPCTW board books, Baby Builders, Danbi, Citizen Baby, Big Ideas for Little Philosophers

Blogger outreach

Online and social media promotion

Educational and library outreach

Feature at all School & Library conferences



Author Website: www.deborahunderwoodbooks.com, www.momisdrawing.com

Author Social Media: Twitter: @underwoodwriter; www.facebook.com/DeborahUnderwoodAuthor; Illustrator Instagram: @momisdrawing

An Indie Next List Selection

★ 
“Unity and division are themes rich for exploration in this story of alphabet letters separated by fear and complacency. It will grow upon children and adults with each reading. [And] the letter characters are adorable.”SLJ (starred review)

“Expressive…Bright…Even pre-readers will recognize letters set in bold, big shapes, enabling caregivers to incorporate early-literacy lessons into the read-aloud experience. This message of friendship…bears repeating, especially for the youngest readers. ”Kirkus

“This [is a] smartly executed fable about embracing difference, [offering] a neutral, easy setting to underline how diversity leads to strength.” —Publishers Weekly

“With so many books out there about coming together, this one goes beyond to incorporate the alphabet and word-learning, as well as the importance of listening to young people. [The] cuteness helps deliver the empathetic message for our youngest readers.” —Shelf Awareness

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.