Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

CANADA - Penguin Canada

more
Bunny
By (author): Mona Awad
9780735235885 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Satire Jun 11, 2019
$29.95 CAD
Forthcoming 6.28 x 9.28 x 1.09 in 320 pages Penguin Canada Hamish Hamilton
The Vegetarian meets Heathers in this darkly funny, seductively strange novel about a lonely graduate student drawn into a clique of rich girls who seem to move and speak as one.

“We were just these innocent girls in the night trying to make something beautiful. We nearly died. We very nearly did, didn’t we?”

Samantha Heather Mackey couldn’t be more different from the other members of her master’s program at New England’s elite Warren University. A self-conscious scholarship student who prefers the company of her imagination to that of most people, she is utterly repelled by the rest of her fiction writing cohort—a clique of unbearably twee rich girls who call each other “Bunny,” and are often found entangled in a group hug so tight it seems their bodies might become permanently fused.

But everything changes when Samantha receives an invitation to the Bunnies’ exclusive monthly “Smut Salon,” and finds herself drawn as if by magic to their front door—ditching her only friend, Ava, an audacious art school dropout, in the process. As Samantha plunges deeper and deeper into Bunny world, and starts to take part in the off-campus “Workshop” where they devise their monstrous creations, the edges of reality begin to blur, and her friendships with Ava and the Bunnies are brought into deadly collision.

A spellbinding, down-the-rabbit-hole tale about loneliness and belonging, creativity and agency, and female friendship and desire, Bunny is the dazzlingly original second book from an author with tremendous “insight into the often-baffling complexities of being a woman” (The Atlantic).

AWARDS CONTENDER AND FAN FAVOURITE: 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl was shortlisted for the Giller, won the Amazon.ca First Novel Award, and was longlisted for the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour and the International Dublin Literary Award. It was named a best book of the year by The National Post, The Atlantic, and NPR, and a best book of the month by The Huffington Post, Bustle, and Book Riot.

STRONG SALES TRACK TO BUILD ON: A novel-in-stories, 13 Ways has sold nearly 20,000 copies across formats—a fantastic launching pad for Bunny, Awad’s first true novel.

COMMERCIAL HOOK: Awad takes an instantly recognizable pop culture premise—the outsider seduced by the popular clique—and takes it in a completely original direction: into a strange, surreal, at times terrifying world that will appeal to fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Karen Russell.

TIMELY INDICTMENT OF SOCIAL NORMS FOR WOMEN: Awad took on body image in 13 Ways. Here, she turns her perceptive eye to women who infantalize themselves for success and society’s encouragement.

SHOCKINGLY ORIGINAL TAKE: On expecatations of women, the Ivy League experience, and female friendships.

STRONG PARTNER: We’re excited to partner with Viking US and Head of Zeus in the UK.

MONA AWAD is the author of 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize that won the Amazon Canada First Novel Award, the Colorado Book Award, and an Honorable Mention from the Arab American Book Awards. It was also longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award and the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour. The recipient of an MFA in Fiction from Brown University and a PhD in English and Creative Writing from the University of Denver, she has published work in Time, VICE, Electric Literature, McSweeney’s, Los Angeles Review of Books, and elsewhere.

Author Residence: Boston, MA

Author Hometown: Toronto, Canada

Marketing: Goodreads Personal Selection Mailer

Goodreads Giveaway

Sponsored Influencers

Instagram

Search ads



Publicity: Select review coverage in outlets like the Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, Elle, Chatelaine and Flare

Select feature coverage in outlets like Toronto Star, Globe and Mail, NOW Magazine, Georgia Straight, Chatelaine, CULT MTL

Limited national radio interviews like CBC Q and The Next Chapter

Select blogger coverage

Event in Toronto, possibility of Montreal



Author Website: MonaAwadAuthor.com

Author Social Media: Twitter: @MonaAwadAuthor; Instagram: @Misery_Saga

Praise for 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl:

“Beautifully told, with a profoundly sensitive understanding of the subject matter, it’s clear that all of the anticipation for this particular fiction debut was entirely warranted.”—The Globe and Mail

“Honest, searing, and necessary.”—Elle

“Stunning…As you watch Lizzie navigate fraught relationships—with food, men, girlfriends, her parents and even with herself—you’ll want to grab a friend and say: ’Whoa. This. Exactly.’”—Washington Post

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.