Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ORANGE - Penguin Canada

more
Hideaway
By (author): Nicole Lundrigan
9780735237810 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological Jul 09, 2019
$24.95 CAD
Forthcoming 6.26 x 8.98 x 0.9 in 336 pages Penguin Canada Viking
What if home is the most dangerous place you can be? For fans of Room and readers of Shari Lapena.

Gloria Janes appears to be a doting suburban mother and loving wife. But beyond her canary-yellow door, Gloria controls her husband, Telly, as well as seven-year-old Maisy and her older brother Rowan, through a disorienting cycle of adoration and banishment.

When Telly leaves, Gloria turns on Rowan. He runs away, finding unlikely refuge with a homeless man named Carl, with whom he forms the kind of bond he has never found with his parents. After they are menaced by strangers, Rowan follows Carl to an isolated cottage, where he accidentally sets off a burst of heightened paranoia in Carl, and their adventure takes a dark turn.

Gloria is publicly desperate for the safe return of her son while privately plotting ever wilder ways to lure Telly home for good. Her behaviour grows more erratic and her manipulation of Maisy begins to seem dedicated toward an outcome that only she can see. The two storylines drive relentlessly toward a climax that is both shocking and emotionally riveting.

Suspenseful, unsettling, and masterful, Hideaway explores the secrets of a troubled family and illuminates an unlikely hero and a source of unexpected strength.

Story Locale: Little Sliding, a fictional town in northeastern North America

Publication History: Original Trade Paperback

A BREAKOUT BOOK: Nicole Lundrigan is one of Canada’s best kept secrets. She has received rave reviews for her previous novels; this is the one that will break her out to a wider audience.

UNFORGETTABLE CHARACTERS: Told in the brilliantly realized voices of two children whose psychologically and emotionally penetrating perceptions of the adults who control their lives will stay with readers.

HOT CATEGORY: A stellar addition to the popular field of domestic thrillers that feature family secrets and strong child characters.

ORIGINAL TRADE PAPERBACK

NICOLE LUNDRIGAN is the author of six critically acclaimed novels, including The Substitute and Glass Boys. Her work has appeared on best of the year selections of The Globe and Mail, Amazon.ca, and Now magazine. She grew up in Newfoundland, and now lives in Toronto.

Author Residence: Toronto

Author Hometown: Upper Gullies, Newfoundland

Marketing: Pre-Pub:

-       3/8/19 – Cover reveal on author’s Facebook page

-       5/8/19 – ARC giveaway on author’s Facebook page

-       5/16/19 – 5/31/19 – Goodreads ARCs giveaway

-       5/20/19 – e-book preorder discount

-       6/18/19 -7/9/19 – Premium Goodreads contest with final copies

-       6/27/19 - ARC giveaway on Penguin Canada social channels

-       6/27/19 – Facebook pre-order advertising

On-Sale

-       7/9/19 – Podcast advertising

-       7/9/19 – 7/22/19 - Goodreads advertising

-       7/23/19 - 8/9/19 – Online digital ad campaign

-       8/10/19 – 8/22/19 Facebook advertising

-       Ongoing organic social media support

- Finished copies influencer mailing



US Plans:

Wide ARC distribution

Promotion at BEA

Goodreads promotion

BookRiot promotion

Social media campaign

Pitch for reviews and summer reading lists



Publicity: Extensive review coverage in daily newspapers like the Globe and Mail and the Toronto Star

Select review and feature coverage in lifestyle magazines like Canadian Living and Chatelaine

Select national radio interviews with programs like CBC The Next Chapter

Extensive blogger outreach to our thriller community

Pitch for CTV’s The Social “The Social Chapter” book club selection for August

Toronto launch event

Potential to tour to: Winnipeg and SW Ontario (Sarnia, Orangeville & Uxbridge)

Pitch to Fall festivals

Extensive ARC mailing for early review coverage

Indie bookstore visits and signings

Indigo bookstore visits and signings

Potential for an in-house event with Kobo



Author Website: www.nicolelundrigan.com

Advance Praise for Hideaway:

“Authentic, disturbing and unbearably tense, Hideaway will leave you reeling.”—Shari Lapena, #1 internationally bestselling author of The Couple Next Door

“In elegant, stylish prose, Lundrigan captures the bewilderment of childhood when it’s set against the backdrop of how awful adults can be. If ever there was a book that will hook you with hatred and love, Hideaway is it. With a great, tense finish, you’ll be desperate for the right characters to win. I loved Maisy as much as I do Scout Finch, and that’s saying something.”—Roz Nay, internationally-bestselling author of Our Little Secret

Praise for The Substitute:

A “skillfully balanced blend of psychological thriller and haunting coming-of-age story…infused with creepy, small- town atmospheric suspense…. Elegant and darkly homorous, delivering bareknuckle social commentary that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Karin Fossum, and Laura Lippman.”—Booklist (starred review)

“A feast for fans who miss Patrica Highsmith’s and Margaret Millar’s haunting anatomies of people as nice as pie except for their murders.”—Kirkus Reviews

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.