Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

CORPORATE - Penguin Random House

more
  • Other Formats

    9780735265295 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 820L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Nov 03, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $16.99 CAD
  • Catalogues

The Enigma Game
By (author): Elizabeth Wein
9780735265288 Paperback, Trade English Young Adult : Age (years) from 12, Grade (US) from 7 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Historical / Military & Wars Nov 03, 2020
$16.99 CAD
Forthcoming 5.63 x 8.31 x 1.03 in | 0.98 lb 448 pages Penguin Random House Canada Teen Penguin Teen
A stunning new novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein, featuring a beloved character from the award-winning Code Name Verity; for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society.

A German soldier risks his life to drop off the sought-after Enigma Machine to British Intelligence, hiding it in a pub in a small town in northeast Scotland, and unwittingly bringing together four very different people who decide to keep it to themselves. Louisa Adair, a young teen girl hired to look after the pub owner’s elderly, German-born aunt, Jane Warner, finds it but doesn’t report it. Flight-Lieutenant Jamie Beaufort-Stuart intercepts a signal but can’t figure it out. Ellen McEwen, volunteer at the local airfield, acts as the go-between and messenger, after Louisa involves Jane in translating. The planes under Jamie’s command seem charmed, as Jamie knows where exactly to go, while other squadrons suffer, and the four are loathe to give up the machine, even after Elisabeth Lind from British Intelligence arrives, even after the Germans start bombing the tiny town…

BRILLIANT NEW NOVEL: New fiction from one of the most stunning writers in YA historical fiction.

FEATURING ANOTHER FAVORITE CHARACTER: Devotees of her earlier books will be thrilled to see more of Jamie (Julie’s [Code Name Verity] brother) and Ellen from The Pearl Thief—and learn the true identity of Elisabeth Lind.

COMING-OF-AGE AS WELL AS SUSPENSEFUL WWII STORY: A young teen girl unexpectedly on her own, an enigma machine, spies, air battles, wartime rules—this story weaves together several story lines to create an absolutely compelling narrative.

CROSS-OVER POTENTIAL: Like all of Elizabeth’s novels, this has potential to cross over to the adult market. It’s perfect for fans of Transcription, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the TV series Bletchley Circle.

IMMIGRATION THEMES: During wartime, Germans were all treated with suspicion; a timely look at how people treat immigrants.

CRITICAL PRAISE: Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire made it on to countless best books of the year lists: the critical acclaim for Elizabeth’s writing is truly resounding.

STRONG PUBLISHING PARTNERS: We are co-publishing with Disney/Hyperion in the US and Bloomsbury in the UK.

ORIGINAL TRADE PAPERBACK: We are bringing a novel of Elizabeth’s out in OTPB for the first time, in order to build sales and widen her audience.

ELIZABETH WEIN was born in New York and grew up abroad, and currently lives in Scotland with her husband and two children. She is an avid flier of small planes, and holds a PhD in Folklore from the University of Pennsylvania. Elizabeth is the author of Rose Under Fire, winner of the Schneider Family Book Award, and Code Name Verity, winner of the Edgar Award in the Young Adult category and a Printz Medal Honor Book. Visit her online at www.elizabethwein.com.

@EWein2412

Author Residence: Scotland

Author Hometown: New York

Marketing: Make direct reference to Code Name Verity

Goodreads giveaway

Possible Goodreads campaign

Pre-pub club title

Outreach to indies

Pitch for Loan Star promotion

Lifestyle social ads

Key title in Penguin Teen Social



Author Website: www.elizabethwein.com

Author Social Media: @EWein2412

“A soaring success.”—Kirkus Reviews

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.