has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ORANGE - Penguin Books

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AE AF AI AM AO AQ AR AW AZ BF BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV CD CF CG CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO DZ EC EG EH ER ET FM GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HK HM HN HT ID IL IQ IR JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LR LY MA MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU OM PA PE PF PM PS PW PY QA RE RW SA SD SG SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UY UZ VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AD AG AL AT AU AX BA BB BD BE BG BM BN BS BW BY BZ CC CH CX CY CZ DE DK DM EE ES FI FJ FK FO FR GB GD GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HR HU IE IM IN IO IS IT JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LI LK LS LT LU LV MC MD ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ PG PK PL PN PT RO RS RU SB SC SE SH SI SJ SK SL SM SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UA UG VA VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Not yet available On Sale Date: Nov 16, 2021 Carton Quantity: 12 $36.00 CAD
    $27.00 USD
  • Catalogues

Noor
By (author): Nnedi Okorafor

ISBN:

9780756416096

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

General/trade
Nov 16, 2021
$36.00 CAD
Forthcoming

Dimensions:

8.52in x 5.74 x 0.86 in | 0.76 lb

Page Count:

224 pages
DAW
FICTION / Science Fiction / Genetic Engineering
From Africanfuturist luminary Okorafor comes a new science fiction novel of intense action and thoughtful rumination on biotechnology, destiny, and humanity in a near-future Nigeria.

Anwuli Okwudili prefers to be called AO. To her, these initials have always stood for Artificial Organism. AO has never really felt…natural, and that’s putting it lightly. Her parents spent most of the days before she was born praying for her peaceful passing because even in-utero she was “wrong”. But she lived. Then came the car accident years later that disabled her even further. Yet instead of viewing her strange body the way the world views it, as freakish, unnatural, even the work of the devil, AO embraces all that she is: A woman with a ton of major and necessary body augmentations. And then one day she goes to her local market and everything goes wrong.

Once on the run, she meets a Fulani herdsman named DNA and the race against time across the deserts of Northern Nigeria begins. In a world where all things are streamed, everyone is watching the “reckoning of the murderess and the terrorist” and the “saga of the wicked woman and mad man” unfold. This fast-paced, relentless journey of tribe, destiny, body, and the wonderland of technology revels in the fact that the future sometimes isn’t so predictable. Expect the unaccepted.

Story Locale: Postapocalyptic Africa

NEW AFRICANFUTURIST NOVEL in the vein of Okorafor’s Who Fears Death and The Book of Phoenix, blending sci-fi and fantasy

HBO SERIES IN DEVELOPMENT: A series based on the novel Who Fears Death is in development at HBO, with Okorafor and George R.R. Martin as executive producers

UNIFIED AUTHOR COVER DESIGN: This new novel will feature cover art by Greg Ruth, who did the cover art for the omnibus of the Binti trilogy and redesigned Who Fears Death and The Book of Phoenix, and unique type designed by Jim Tierney

WINNER OF THE WORLD FANTASY AWARD: Who Fears Death won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, one of SFF’s highest achievements, in 2011

SOCIAL MEDIA PRESENCE: Okorafor has over 118K followers on Twitter

ACCLAIMED OEUVRE: Okorafor’s work has garnered rave reviews from authors including Peter S. Beagle, John Green, Neil Gaiman, and Nawal El Saadawi, and publications such as the New York Times, Washington Post, Ebony Magazine, The Village Voice, and The New York Journal of Books, among countless others

Nnedi Okorafor was born in the United States to two Igbo (Nigerian) immigrant parents. She holds a PhD in English and was a professor of creative writing at Chicago State University. She has been the winner of many awards for her short stories and young adult books, and won a World Fantasy Award for Who Fears Death. Nnedi’s books are inspired by her Nigerian heritage and her many trips to Africa.

Author Residence: Chicago, IL

Marketing: Pre-publication consumer outreach

Social media campaign

Consumer sweepstakes

E-mail marketing campaign

Backlist promotions



Publicity: Select author appearances

National print publicity

Online publicity campaign

Blog campaign



Author Website: nnedi.com

Author Social Media: Twitter @nnedi

Praise for Nnedi Okorafor

Haunting and absolutely brilliant. My heart and guts are all turned inside out.” —John Green, New York Times-bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars

Who Fears Death is one of the most striking, chilling, truly fascinating, and all-around remarkable novels I’ve read in a very long time.” —Peter S. Beagle, bestselling author of The Last Unicorn

”Nnedi Okorafor is American-born but her Nigerian blood runs strong, lacing her work with fantasy, magic and true African reality. Many people need to read Who Fears Death, it’s an important book.“ —Nawal El Saadawi, bestselling author of Woman at Point Zero

”To compare author Nnedi Okorafor to the late Octavia E. Butler would be easy to do, but this simple comparison should not detract from Okorafor’s unique storytelling gift.“ —New York Journal of Books

”Both wondrously magical and terribly realistic.“ —The Washington Post

Believable, nuanced characters of color and an unbiased view of an Africa full of technology, mysticism, culture clashes and true love.“ —Ebony Magazine (editor’s pick)

”A fantastical, magical blend of grand storytelling.“ —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

”Beautifully written, this is dystopian fantasy at its very best. Expertly exploring issues of race, gender, and cultural identity, Okorafor blends future fantasy with the rhythm and feel of African storytelling. “ —Library Journal (starred review)

”Her pacing is tight. Her expository sections sing like poetry. Descriptions of paranormal people and battles are disturbingly vivid and palpable. But most crucial to the book’s success is how the author slowly transforms Onye’s pursuit of her rapist father from a personal vendetta to a struggle to transform the social systems that created him.“ —The Village Voice

”Okorafor is a master storyteller who combines recent history, fantasy, tradition, advanced technology, and culture into something wonderful and new that should not be missed." —RT Book Review (top pick)

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.