has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

BLUE - McClelland & Stewart

more
  • Other Formats

    9780771038228 9780771038242 Downloadable audio file 9780771000942 Downloadable audio file 9780771038150 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AG AS AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GU GY IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MM MP MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PH PK PN PR SB SC SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG UM US VC VG VI VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Not yet available On Sale Date:Aug 17, 2021 Carton Quantity:24 $24.95 CAD
    $18.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Missed Connections
A Memoir in Letters Never Sent
By (author): Brian Francis
9780771038143 Paperback , Trade English General/trade Aug 17, 2021
$24.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.24 x 8 x 0.69 in | 0.52 lb 240 pages McClelland & Stewart
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / LGBTQ+
An entertaining and moving memoir about coming out, looking inwards, and the search for connection, inspired by the responses to a personal ad. A Loan Stars Top 10 Pick of the Month and one of Daily Hive’s 10 Essential LGBTQ2+ Books to Celebrate Pride. 

In 1992, Brian Francis placed a personal ad in a local newspaper. He was a twenty-one-year-old university student, still very much in the closet, and looking for love. He received twenty-five responses, but there were thirteen letters that went unanswered and spent years tucked away, forgotten, inside a cardboard box. Now, nearly thirty years later, and at a much different stage in his life, Brian has written replies to those letters. Using the letters as a springboard to reflect on all that has changed for him as a gay man over the past three decades, Brian’s responses cover a range of topics, including body image, aging, desire, the price of secrecy, and the courage it takes to be unapologetically yourself.



Missed Connections is an open-hearted, irreverent, often hilarious, and always bracingly honest examination of the pieces of our past we hold close—and all that we lose along the way. It is also a profoundly affecting meditation on how Brian’s generation, the queer people who emerged following the generation hit hardest by AIDS, were able to step out from the shadows and into the light. In an age when the promise of love is just a tap or swipe away, this extraordinary memoir reminds us that our yearning for connection and self-acceptance is timeless.



Story Locale: London, Sarnia, Toronto, ON

AUDIENCE: For readers of Cheryl Strayed’s Dear Sugar column and Tiny Beautiful Things, Vivek Shraya’s I’m Afraid of Men, David Chariandy’s I’ve Been Meaning to Tell You; readers of books about the search for love, such as Glenn Dixon’s Juliet’s Answer: One Man’s Search for Love and the Elusive Cure for Heartbreak, Haley McGee’s The Ex-Boyfriend Yard Sale; and fans of PostSecret and the Letters of Note series.

A SHORT HISTORY OF SHIFTING ATTITUDES TOWARDS LGBTQ+ RIGHTS IN CANADA: Through his own moving first-person perspective, Brian tracks how much has and hasn’t changed for the queer community in Canada over the past thirty years.

BOOK CLUB POTENTIAL: This is a book destined to spark conversations of all kinds, not least between different generations of the LGBTQ+ community.

POPULAR, WELL-CONNECTED AUTHOR: Brian is a regular contributor to CBC’s The Next Chapter, writes the monthly “Agony Editor” column for Quill & Quire, and works at the Toronto Public Library, where he is the manager of marketing communications.

FROM PLAY TO BOOK: Brian’s acclaimed 75-minute show had a sold-out debut run at the 2018 SummerWorks Festival’s Lab series, followed by a sold-out production at Buddies in Bad Times Theatre in spring 2020 that was nominated for three Dora Mavor Moore Awards.

BRIAN FRANCIS is the author of three novels: Fruit, a 2009 Canada Reads finalist; Natural Order, which was selected by the Toronto Star, Kobo, and Georgia Straight as a Best Book of 2011; and the YA novel Break in Case of Emergency, a finalist for the 2019 Governor General’s Literary Awards. His latest book is Missed Connections: A Memoir in Letters Never Sent, which was inspired by his play, Box 4901. He lives in Toronto. 

Author Residence: Toronto, ON

Author Hometown: Sarnia, ON

“Witty, warm, and smart, Brian Francis’s memoir packs an emotional punch through breathtakingly beautiful storytelling. The personal tales in Missed Connections give way to a time-travelling work in which the past informs the present and the present bears witness to the past. At once an intimate narrative and a record of a moment in gay history, this is a necessary, courageous, and deliciously acerbic book.” —Kamal Al-Solaylee, author of Intolerable and Brown
 
“What if you could revisit your past and heal lifelong wounds? In Missed Connections, Brian Francis does just that, casting a forgiving and much wiser eye on his younger self. A funny, moving and keenly observed chronicle of gay life from the 1990s to the present, Missed Connections is a love letter to paths both taken and not.” —Rachel Giese, author of Boys: What it Means to Become a Man
 
“Brian Francis has written a powerful and moving memoir laced with humour and melancholy. It broke my heart, lifted me up, and left me enthralled. This is a book we all need to read.” —Terry Fallis, author of The Best Laid Plans and Operation Angus

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.