has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

BLUE - Crown Publishing Group

more
  • Other Formats

    9781524759971 9781101906774 Paperback / softback, Trade paperback (US), $23.00 9781524721343 CD-Audio, $60.00 9781524721350 Downloadable audio file, $29.50 9781101906767 Reflowable, EPUB 9781524751890 Paperback / softback, Trade paperback (US), $33.00
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IR IS IT JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO IQ JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SD SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Not available (reason unspecified) On Sale Date: Feb 14, 2017 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
A Novel
By (author): Jennifer Ryan
Jennifer Ryan

Imprint:

Crown

ISBN:

9781101906750

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

General Trade
Feb 14, 2017
$33.00 CAD
Out of stock indefinitely

Dimensions:

9.5in x 6.4 x 1.2 in | 1.32 lb

Page Count:

384 pages

Illustrations:

1 MAP
Crown
FICTION / Historical / General
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“A delightful debut.”—People 

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past.
 
An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.

JENNIFER RYAN lives in the Washington, DC area with her husband and two children. Originally from Kent and then London, she was previously a nonfiction book editor.

"A delightful debut."
People

"This well-written and absorbing tale will stay with the reader for a long time to come."
Bookreporter

"Compelling and exquisitely wrought."
Bookpage

"These strong, unforgettable characters will keep you reading late into the night. I could not put this wonderful book down."
The Missourian

“There's so much happening in Chilbury: intrigue, romance and an unforgettable cast of characters who aren’t always as they appear. The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is a charming slice of English wartime life that warms the soul like a hot toddy."
Martha Hall Kelly, New York Times bestselling author of Lilac Girls

"Lyrical, poetic, emotional, funny, endearing, surprising – it is a masterpiece."
Veronica Henry, author of An Eligible Bachelor

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir sinks you deep inside the rich, intricate atmosphere of an English village in the middle of war, when quiet lives are upended and secrets unravel. With her unforgettable characters and vivid narrative, Jennifer Ryan creates the kind of wartime novel that plays out over the intimate territory of the human heart—full of soul, full of hope. You’ll be thinking about this book long after the last page turns.”
— Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers and The Secret Life of Violet Grant

“World War II in an English village seen through the eyes of the most delicious cast of characters you’ll ever meet—The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is a masterpiece of secrets, misdirection, village gossip, and gleeful disregard for anything but the main chance, as the Home Front learns to carry on. Seldom do you find a writer with such a deft touch—Jennifer Ryan sweeps the reader along to the very last page in a remarkable debut. “
Charles Todd, New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge series

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.