has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan

more
Blackwater
By (author): Jeannette Arroyo By (author): Ren Graham
Jeannette Arroyo , Ren Graham

Imprint:

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

ISBN:

9781250304025

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Paper over boards
Hardcover , Paper over boards
English

Audience:

Young Adult : Age (years) 14 - 18
Jul 19, 2022
Print Run: 35000
$34.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9in x 6 x 0.85 in | 710 gr

Page Count:

304 pages

Illustrations:

full-color illustrations throughout
Henry Holt and Co.
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / LGBTQ+

Riverdale meets Stranger Things in this debut queer YA graphic novel, developed from a hit webcomic. Set in the haunted town of Blackwater, Maine, two boys fall for each other as they dig for clues to a paranormal mystery.

"For fans of Heartstopper and Teen Wolf." —School Library Journal

Tony Price is a popular high school track star and occasional delinquent aching for his dad’s attention and approval. Eli Hirsch is a quiet boy with a chronic autoimmune disorder that has ravaged his health and social life. What happens when these two become unlikely friends (and a whole lot more . . .) in the spooky town of Blackwater, Maine? Werewolf curses, unsavory interactions with the quarterback of the football team, a ghostly fisherman haunting the harbor, and tons of high school drama.

Co-illustrated by Jeannette Arroyo and Ren Graham, who alternate drawing chapters in their own unique and dynamic styles, Blackwater combines the spookiness of Anya's Ghost with the irreverent humor of Nimona.

Jeannette Arroyo was born and raised in New Mexico but recently relocated to the rainier Seattle area. In addition to her first graphic novel, Blackwater, she has also done freelance in animation and children’s book illustrations. A huge fan of the horror genre, Jeannette likes to mix in some lighthearted spooky elements in her work. Co-created with Ren Graham, Blackwater is her debut graphic novel.

Ren Graham
is a fiction writer and illustrator currently residing in the rainy Pacific Northwest. They have B.A. in Art History and a graduate studies certificate in Science Illustration, so biology, world mythology, and natural elements tend to influence and reappear in their work. Ren is interested in spooky stories, chilly hikes in the woods, and the ways in which art and science intersect. Co-created with Jeannette Arroyo, Blackwater is their debut graphic novel.

Debut Dozen: a queer graphic novel based on a popular webcomic; Riverdale meets Stranger Things in this coming-of-age, paranormal mystery; 100k print run

"While werewolves and ghosts, bullies and family dynamics are all worthy subjects, Eli and Tony are just so darn shippable that the rest is all gravy. " —Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

"
Together, the creators weave a compelling high school drama [and] a tender romance." —Publishers Weekly

"
For fans of the Heartstopper series and Teen Wolf." —School Library Journal

"
The co-creators weave together dread, drama and humor in a suspenseful, successful queer romantic mystery." —Shelf Awareness

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.