has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

HarperCollins Canada

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IM IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZM ZW Not for sale in: AU GB IE IN NZ ZA
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: HarperCollins Publishers Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Mar 05, 2019 On Sale Date: Mar 05, 2019 Carton Quantity: 12 $36.00 CAD
    $25.00 USD
  • Catalogues

The Stranger Diaries
By (author): Elly Griffiths
Elly Griffiths

Imprint:

Mariner Books

ISBN:

9781328577856

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

General Trade
Mar 05, 2019
$36.00 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9in x 6 in | 18.88 oz

Page Count:

352 pages
HarperCollins
Mariner Books
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction: general and literary|Crime and mystery: police procedural|Crime and mystery: women sleuths

International Bestseller

Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel

"This lively whodunit keeps you guessing until the end."
People

“Utterly bewitching…As unforgettable as it is original.”A.J. Finn

“Goose-bump spooky, smart, and haunting…I loved this book!”Louise Penny

Death lies between the lines when the events of a dark story start coming true in this haunting modern gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House.

Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she teaches a course on it every year. But when one of Clare’s colleagues and closest friends is found dead, with a line from R. M. Holland’s most famous story, “The Stranger,” left by her body, Clare is horrified to see her life collide with the storylines of her favorite literature.

To make matters worse, the police suspect the killer is someone Clare knows. Unsure whom to trust, she turns to her closest confidant, her diary, the only outlet she has for her darkest suspicions and fears about the case. Then one day she notices something odd. Writing that isn't hers, left on the page of an old diary:

Hallo Clare. You don’t know me.

Clare becomes more certain than ever: “The Stranger” has come to terrifying life. But can the ending be rewritten in time?

ELLY GRIFFITHS is the author of the Ruth Galloway and Brighton mystery series, as well as the standalone novels The Stranger Diaries, winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel, and The Postscript Murders. She is the recipient of the CWA Dagger in the Library Award and the Mary Higgins Clark Award. She lives in Brighton, England.

Praise for The Stranger Diaries International Bestseller Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel Named Best Crime Book of the Year by the Times A CrimeReads Most Anticipated Book of 2019 An iBooks Most Anticipated Book of 2019 A Crime by the Book Most Anticipated Book 2019 A Bustle Spring 2019 March Read "This lively whodunit keeps you guessing until the end." —People "The Stranger Diaries is an utterly mesmerizing thriller. If you like chilling thrillers, this is what you should be reading next." —Washington Book Review "An entertaining collision of spooks and modern manners...firmly among the finest of modern gothic." —BookPage "Griffiths’ exceptional standalone THE STRANGER DIARIES is a spring 2019 must-read...Griffiths masterfully blends Gothic influence with modern-day suspense sensibility, and the result is effortless, spine-tingling, page-turning fun...accessible and seriously entertaining, while remaining rich in atmosphere as well...I loved this book." —Crime by the Book "Packs its punches with the creepy factor." —The Genre Minx “The perfect Gothic suspense novel to snuggle with under the covers and with a cup of tea.” —Ludwig's Thrillers “Utterly bewitching. This atmospheric, intricate thriller, a pitch-perfect modern Gothic, chilled my blood and warmed my heart. As unforgettable as it is original.” —A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Woman in the Window “My heart is still pounding after finishing Elly Griffiths’ The Stranger Diaries. As with her other books, this is fiercely intelligent, warm, human and at times, funny. But unlike her others, this is a stand-alone. Her first and I hope not her last. The Stranger Diaries picks up where the great Gothic thrillers of the past leave off. At once a homage to that great literary form, and a re-imagining. It is goose-bump spooky, smart, and haunting, in every sense. I loved this book! And you will too.” —Louise Penny, #1 New York Times best-selling author of the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache mystery series "A multi-layered and splendidly creepy gothic tale...Cliffhangers and gothic tropes abound as the narrative baton is passed between Clare, her daughter Georgia and the former Talgarth pupil DS Harbinder Kaur, with Griffiths expertly ratcheting up the tension." —Guardian "Griffiths has gifted readers with a gripping homage to the gothic novel...An entrancing literary tour de force in which Shakespeare’s line, 'Hell is empty,' from The Tempest, cleverly connects past and present. Georgette Heyer fans will relish this, as will readers who enjoyed Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale​ and Anthony Horowitz’s Magpie Murders​." Booklist, STARRED reviewThe Stranger Diaries can be described in one word: delicious! Who could resist the gothic tale from the past, the spooky old school (so like those we all attended in England) all beautifully blended with very real and compelling characters in the present. Top marks to Miss Griffiths!” —Rhys Bowen,New York Times-bestselling author of The Tuscan Child, In Farleigh Field and t —

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.