has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Sourcebooks

more
The Other Einstein
A Novel
By (author): Marie Benedict
Marie Benedict

Imprint:

Sourcebooks Landmark

ISBN:

9781492637257

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Picture book
Hardcover , Picture book
English

Audience:

General Trade
Oct 18, 2016
$37.99 CAD
Unknown

Dimensions:

9in x 6 x 1.15 in | 510 gr

Page Count:

304 pages
Sourcebooks
Sourcebooks Landmark
FICTION / Historical / General

"Superb...the haunting story of Einstein's brilliant first wife who was lost in his shadow."—Sue Monk Kidd, New York Times bestselling author of The Invention of Wings, The Secret Life of Bees, and The Mermaid Chair

"The Other Einstein takes you into Mileva's heart, mind, and study as she tries to forge a place for herself in a scientific world dominated by men."—Bustle

From the author of The Mystery of Mrs. Christie, in the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whosecontribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

Other Bestselling Historical Fiction from Marie Benedict:
The Mystery of Mrs. Christie
Lady Clementine
The Only Woman in the Room
Carnegie's Maid

Marie Benedictis a lawyer with more than ten years' experience as a litigator at two of the country's premier law firms and for Fortune 500 companies. She is a magna cum laude graduate of Boston College with a focus in history and art history and a cum laude graduate of the Boston University School of Law. Marie, the author of The Other Einstein, Carnegie's Maid, The Only Woman in the Room, and Lady Clementine, views herself as an archaeologist of sorts, telling the untold stories of women. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family.

"In The Other Einstein Marie Benedict brings us into the life and times of Mileva Mari? Einstein, Albert's first wife. A brilliant mathematician in her own right, Mileva and Albert plan a life together of equal scholarship, but Albert's ambitions and Mileva's role as a wife and mother at the turn of the twentieth century make this an impossibility. Could the theory of relativity actually have been conceived by "the other Einstein"? Inthis fascinating and thoughtful novel, we learn that this is more than possible." - B.A. Shapiro, New York Times bestselling author of The Art Forger and The Muralist

"Beautifully written...a finely drawn portrait of a woman in love with the wrong man." - Jillian Cantor, author of Margot and The Hours Count

"A crusading scientist undone by love....revealing, enlightening." - Nuala O'Connor, author of Miss Emily

"In her compelling novel... Benedict makes a strong case that the brilliant woman behind [Albert Einstein] was integral to his success, and creates a rich historical portrait in the process." - Publishers Weekly

"Benedict's debut novel carefully traces Mileva's life—from studious schoolgirl to bereaved mother—with attention paid to the conflicts between personal goals and social conventions. An intriguing... reimagining of one of the strongest intellectual partnerships of the 19th century." - Kirkus Reviews

"Many will enjoy Benedict's feminist views and be fascinated by the life of an almost unknown woman." - RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars

"...INTIMATE and IMMERSIVE historical novel....Prepare to be moved by this provocative history of a woman whose experiences will resonate with today's readers." " - Library Journal, Editors' Fall Picks

"The Other Einstein takes you into Mileva's heart, mind, and study as she tries to forge a place for herself in a scientific world dominated by men. " - Bustle

"...an ENGAGING and THOUGHT PROVOKING fictional telling of the poignant story of an overshadowed woman scientist." - Booklist

"Superb...the haunting story of Einstein's brilliant first wife who was lost in his shadow.
" - Sue Monk Kidd, NYT bestselling author of The Invention of Wings, The Secret Life of Bees, and The Mermaid Chair

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.