Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

BLUE - Kensington

more
  • Other Formats

    9781496730824
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Feb 23, 2021 Carton Quantity:36 $35.00 CAD
    $26.00 USD
  • Catalogues

Murder in an Irish Bookshop
A Cozy Irish Murder Mystery
By (author): Carlene O'Connor
9781496730794 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths Feb 23, 2021
$35.00 CAD
Forthcoming 5.72 x 8.55 x 1.04 in | 0.84 lb 304 pages Kensington
In Carlene O’Connor’s seventh installment of her USA Today bestselling Irish Village Mystery series, the grand opening of a new bookstore in Kilbane becomes the closing chapter of an author’s life—and a whodunit that tests even Garda Siobhán O’Sullivan’s deductive reasoning…

“A mélange of clues from classic mysteries plus plenty of Irish charm produce an enjoyable read.”—Kirkus Reviews

Join a bestselling author and travel to County Cork in Ireland to solve a bookish mystery full of twists in a cozy whodunit perfect for fans of Sheila Connolly, Kate Carlisle, and Laura Childs!

Between training the new town garda and trying to set a wedding date with her fiancé, Macdara Flannery, Siobhán O’Sullivan is feeling a bit overwhelmed. She’s looking forward to visiting the new bookshop and curling up with an exciting novel—only to discover the shelves contain nothing but Literature with a capital L. The owner not only refuses to stock romances, mysteries, and science fiction, but won’t even let customers enter his store unless they can quote James Joyce or Sean Hennessey.

Despite the owner deliberately limiting his clientele, he’s hosting a reading and autographing event featuring up and coming Irish writers who will be taking up residency in Kilbane for a month. Among them is indie author Deirdre Walsh, who spends more time complaining about the unfairness of the publishing industry and megastar bestsellers instead of her own creative works, causing a heated debate among the writers. She seems to have a particular distaste for the novels of Nessa Lamb.

Then Deirdre’s body is found the next day in the back of the store—with pages torn from Nessa’s books stuffed in her mouth. Now, Siobhán must uncover which of Kilbane’s literary guests took Deirdre’s criticisms so personally they’d engage in foul play…

Story Locale: Ireland

With these fun and lively murder mysteries set in the Irish countryside, readers join local garda Siobhán O’Sullivan as she investigates crimes, wrangles her five kooky siblings, and helps run her family’s local bistro, where she charms customers with brown bread and tea.

With Murder in an Irish Bookshop marking its 7th installment, the popularity of the Irish Village Mystery series grows in leaps and bounds with each new release.

Carlene O’Connor’s USA Today bestselling Irish Village Mystery series appeals to fans of cozy mysteries, especially fans of British village cozies by authors such as M.C. Beaton and Ann Purser. The close-knit, small town setting and the large family dynamic make this series especially endearing.

Set in Ireland’s lush countryside, the Irish Village Mysteries offer strong appeal to armchair travelers and Hibernophiles alike!

Carlene O’Connor comes from a long line of Irish storytellers and lives part-time in Ireland. The fictional village of Kilbane, County Cork where this series is set was inspired by a real bucolic walled town in County Limerick.

Carlene O’Connor is the USA Today bestselling author of the acclaimed Irish Village Mysteries and the Home to Ireland Mysteries. Born into a long line of Irish storytellers, her great-grandmother emigrated from Ireland filled with tales in 1897 and the stories have been flowing ever since. Of all the places across the pond she’s wandered, she fell most in love with a walled town in County Limerick and was inspired to create the town of Kilbane, County Cork, the setting of her Irish Village Mystery series. Carlene currently divides her time between Chicago and the Emerald Isle. Please visit her online at CarleneOConnor.net.

Author Residence: Chicago, IL

Praise for Murder in an Irish Bookshop

“A mélange of clues from classic mysteries plus plenty of Irish charm produce an enjoyable read.”
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for the Irish Village Mystery Series

 
“Exceptional…Cozy readers will have a hard time putting this one down.”
Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW on Murder in an Irish Cottage
 
“Fans of this series and other Irish cozy mysteries, such as Sheila Connolly’s “County Cork” books, will appreciate this atmospheric story filled with Irish superstitions, legends, and colorful characters. Vivid descriptions of the countryside will appeal to lovers of Ireland.”
Library Journal on Murder in an Irish Cottage
  
“A good old-fashioned finale in which the killer is exposed at a gathering of all the suspects closes this eerie tale with a bang.” 
BookPage on Murder in an Irish Cottage
 
“Carlene O’Connor has continued to evolve the storylines of each of her characters into people that are likeable and engaging. She has done an outstanding job of crafting distraction and misdirection that is essential to any successful murder mystery. As the plot unfolds in this current tale, there are loads of twists and turns that keeps the reader riveted to their seats, guessing whodunit until the very end.”
The New York Journal of Books on Murder in an Irish Cottage
 
“The intricate puzzle and continuing Irish atmosphere make this the series’ best to date.”
Kirkus Reviews
on Murder in an Irish Pub
   
“A delightful combination of Irish village life, family dynamics, and romance.”
Booklist on Murder in an Irish Pub
   
“Readers are treated to a puzzling mystery and a pub full of suspects to pick from. Set in a village in County Cork, Ireland, readers will enjoy the typical small-town gossip and antics, as well as amusing cultural anecdotes, puns, and tons of memorable Irishisms in this fast-paced, interesting tale.”
Mystery Scene on Murder in an Irish Pub
   
“It’s been a long time since I’ve read anything with so many dizzying, devilish, delightful plot twists. A terrific read!”
Suspense Magazine on Murder in an Irish Pub
  
“This entertaining combination of Maeve Binchy’s old-world Irish charm and Janet Evanovich’s roguish humor is a smart, fast-paced read. Devotees of the Hibernian mysteries of Dicey Deere and M.C. Beaton will toast this debut with a pint of Guinness. Sláinte!”
Library Journal on Murder in an Irish Village
  
“A fascinating setting, interesting characters and a well-thought-out plot make Murder in an Irish Churchyard a very good mystery novel.”
The Burlington Post

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.