has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press

more
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 1260L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Apr 14, 2020 On Sale Date: May 05, 2020 Carton Quantity: 20 $23.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Apr 14, 2020 On Sale Date: May 05, 2020 Carton Quantity: 20 $18.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Take Back the Tray
Revolutionizing Food in Hospitals, Schools, and Other Institutions
By (author): Joshna Maharaj
Joshna Maharaj

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770414914

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
May 05, 2020
$23.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5 x 0.62 in | 0.68 lb

Page Count:

264 pages
ECW Press
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Agriculture & Food
Cultural studies: food and society|Central / national / federal government policies|Agriculture, agribusiness and food production industries|Cookery / food and drink / food writing
Ontario
 
Gourmand World Cookbook Award 2020, Joint winner Toronto Book Award 2020, Long-listed
  • Short Description
Maharaj reconnects food with health, wellness, education, and rehabilitation in a way that serves people, not just budgets, and provides a blueprint for reclaiming control from corporations and brutal bottom lines.

A beloved chef takes on institutional food and sparks a revolution with this manifesto, memoir from the trenches, and blueprint for reclaiming control from corporations and brutal bottom lines.

“With hard-won insights and deep commitment, Joshna Maharaj takes us on a mouthwatering tour of what our collective food future might be.” ? Raj Patel, author of Stuffed and Starved: The Hidden Battle for the World Food System

Good food generally doesn’t arrive on a tray, but Chef Joshna Maharaj knows that institutional kitchens have the ability to produce good, nourishing food, because she’s been making it happen over the past 14 years. She’s served meals to people who’d otherwise go hungry, baked fresh scones for maternity ward mothers, and dished out wholesome, scratch-made soups to stressed-out undergrads. She’s determined to bring health, humanity, and hospitality back to institutional food while also building sustainability, supporting the local economy, and reinvigorating the work of frontline staff.

Maharaj reconnects food with health, wellness, education, and rehabilitation in a way that serves people, not just budgets, and proves change is possible with honest, sustained commitment on all levels, from government right down to the person sorting the trash. The need is clear, the time is now, and this revolution is delicious.

Short Description


Maharaj reconnects food with health, wellness, education, and rehabilitation in a way that serves people, not just budgets, and provides a blueprint for reclaiming control from corporations and brutal bottom lines.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Maharaj raised over $50,000 from almost 300 backers in a Kickstarter campaign to fund the writing of this book.

  • Maharaj is well known domestically and internationally as part of the locavore and social gastronomy movements, was the first head chef at The Stop Community Food Centre in Toronto, and co-hosts The Hot Plate

  • For readers of The New Farm (Brent Preston), Feed the Resistance (Julia Turshen), and The Third Plate (Dan Barber).

  • Take Back the Tray includes fascinating facts such as up to 65 percent of hospital food ends up in landfills; although a hospital bed in Ontario costs $1,200 per day, less than $8 is allotted to food; and at Scarborough Hospital, Joshna served a turkey lunch made from local ingredients for only 33 cents per plate.


Publishing Diverse Voices



  • Author: South Asian voices



Audience



  • Local food-movement activists

  • Food policy makers

  • Joshna’s kickstarter backers

  • Those who work with, or are affected by, institutional food

Joshna Maharaj is a chef, two-time TEDx speaker, and activist. She believes strongly in the power of chefs and social gastronomy to bring hospitality, sustainability, and social justice to the table. Joshna is a regular guest on CBC Radio, a passionate public speaker, and co-hosts The Hot Plate, a food and drink podcast. She was the recipient of Restaurants Canada’s Culinary Excellence Award in 2018.

“The author is an engaging and dedicated advocate for those she’s feeding. This is tremendous food for thought for a new decade.” — Quill & Quire

Take Back the Tray is an impassioned call for mutual respect to govern the intimate act of care when provided at scale. Maharaj takes us into institutional kitchens and walk-in freezers; she shares tested strategies for incorporating more ‘scratch cooking,’ more local restaurants and caterers, and more area farmers into food service. She offers an account of the delicate, plodding, and poignant work of healing institutional roles and relationships strained by the violence of scarcity and profit-based logic.” — Literary Review of Canada

“Many of us have been appalled by the loveless fare being offered at institutions here in Canada. We all know better. Thank you, Joshna Maharaj for stepping into the fray and challenging this sad state of affairs. In Take Back the Tray we savour a passionate and insightful analysis born of many years on the ground working in the institutional food service reality. The writing is an inspiring call to action to restore dignity and deliciousness coupled with a large dose of hospitality to our institutional dining experience. I’ll be doing my bit.” — Jamie Kennedy, chef

“Why is institutional food so bad when it could, and should, be so good? With hard-won insights and deep commitment, Joshna Maharaj takes us on a mouthwatering tour of what our collective food future might be. Her vision points the way to how we can put the hospitality back in hospital food and the generosity into a new generation of socially produced acts of care.” — Raj Patel, author of Stuffed and Starved: The Hidden Battle for the World Food System

“As we are learning, group health depends upon individual health, and in this well-researched, passionate testimonial Maharaj offers wisdom to guide us in the crucial work of improving our collective well-being.” — Winnipeg Free Press

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.