Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Invisible Publishing

more
The Quiet is Loud
By (author): Samantha Garner
9781988784717 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Occult & Supernatural May 04, 2021
$23.95 CAD
Active 5 x 8 x 0.5 in | 340 gr 336 pages Invisible Publishing

The perfect marriage of literary and speculative fiction for readers of Kazuo Ishiguro and NK Jemisin.

When Freya Tanangco was ten, she dreamed of her mother's death right before it happened. That’s when she realized she was a veker, someone with enhanced mental abilities and who is scorned as a result. Freya's adult life has been spent in hiding: from the troubled literary legacy created by her author father, and from the scrutiny of a society in which vekers often meet with violence.

When her prophetic dreams take a dangerous turn, Freya finds herself increasingly forced to sacrifice her own anonymity—and the fragile safety that comes with it—in order to protect those around her.

Interwoven with themes of Filipino Canadian and mixed-race identity, fantastical elements from Norse and Filipino mythology, and tarot card symbolism, The Quiet Is Loud is an intergenerational tale of familial love and betrayal, and what happens when we refuse to let others tell our stories for us.

Samantha Garner's short fiction and poetry have previously appeared in Broken Pencil, Sundog Lit, Kiss Machine, The Fiddlehead, Storychord, WhiskeyPaper and The Quarantine Review. She lives and writes in Toronto.

"The Quiet is Loud made me believe wholeheartedly in the paradextrous powers of its characters and their world, so wholeheartedly that at times I forgot that what I was reading was not possible. Garner's is an exciting new voice."—Liz Harmer, author of The Amateurs

- Liz Harmer

"Samantha Garner's rich prose deftly weaves together family politics, estrangement, and finding one's own place in the world. A lovely exploration of friendship, and identity, and what it means to be truly accepted."—Lindsay Zier-Vogel, author of Letters to Amelia

- Lindsay Zier-Vogel

"In The Quiet is Loud, Garner builds a world where dream visions, tarot readings, and the existence of the paradextrous are a natural part of day-to-day life. Written in clear-eyed prose that effortlessly weaves in Filipino and Norse mythology. The Quiet is Loud is an exciting and sensitive look into the mind of a young woman grappling with the consequences of family secrets, while also coming to terms with her unique talents. It is a powerful debut."—Teri Vlassopoulos, author of Escape Plans

- Teri Vlassopoulos

"In The Quiet is Loud, Samantha Garner has deftly crafted a world that left me breathless. Getting to know Freya Tanangco's story, watching her weave together the strands of her Norwegian Filipino identity and the unexpected power she wields, was both suspenseful and filled with quiet illumination. At the heart, the novel is a gripping journey of self-discovery and the family bonds that hold us all together."—Julia Zarankin, author of Field Notes from an Unintentional Birder

- Julia Zarankin

"The Quiet is Loud is a zeitgeist zirconia, a choker of sparkling speculation for Gen Z readers whose reading tastes are migrating toward adult literary spec fic. For her debut novel, Toronto writer Samantha Garner pours her curiosity into an approachable, recognizable narrative... Garner wears her spec fic, geek, and SF influences on her sleeve, and The Quiet Is Loud is a warm welcome to the more literary part of that universe."Understorey Magazine

- Corinne Gilroy, Understorey Magazine

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.