Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

September 2018 Fiction Releases

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781683312765 9781683312734 Hardback, $35.99 CAD 9781683312741 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $17.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:Sep 11, 2018 Carton Quantity:24
  • Catalogues

A Rachel Carver Mystery
Among the Dead
A Rachel Carver Mystery
By (author): J. R. Backlund
9781683317296 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths Sep 11, 2018
$21.99 CAD
Active 5.45 x 8.26 x 0.93 in 352 pages Crooked Lane Books
Perfect for fans of Tami Hoag and J. T. Ellison, J. R. Backlund’s gripping mystery debut Among the Dead is sure to be a knock-out.

Ex-SBI agent Rachel Carver must hunt a group of killers on her own before time runs out in this gripping debut.


Former North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation agent Rachel Carver blames herself for the collateral death of an innocent woman in her last case. Unable to accept her superior’s attempts to cover up the incident, she turned in her badge. But when a former partner asks her to consult on a new murder case, she reluctantly agrees, traveling to a small, remote mountain community, where she’s tasked with leading a group of inexperienced detectives on a hunt for the killer. The trek has hardly begun when what seems to be the act of a loner proves to be much more as Rachel’s team comes under attack—and a detective is killed in the fallout.

Now that the stakes have risen, Rachel’s old employers at the SBI step in to take over the investigation. But Rachel, convinced they are on the wrong track, continues to work the case alone. And just as she delves into the town’s past, she discovers a secret history that connects the victims—one that makes her the target of a man who would kill to keep it a secret.

While J. R. Backlund’s heart resides in North Carolina, where he was born, his parents transplanted him to The Sunshine State before he was old enough to put up a fight. Prior to writing his first novel, he studied journalism at the University of Florida, then took a thirteen-year detour in construction management before getting back to telling stories. He lives in Jacksonville with his wife and their three furry children—they don’t like it when he calls them dogs.

Praise for Among the Dead:
“A surprising twist [to] this riveting debut...A violent, character-driven story. Fans of Linda Castillo’s ‘Kate Burkholder’ mysteries will welcome Rachel Carver’s arrival.”
Library Journal starred review

“[A] gripping debut...credible, moving, and suspenseful.”
Kirkus Reviews starred review

“[An] exciting debut...Readers will look forward to seeing more.”
Publishers Weekly

“One thrilling ride!”
—Rosalind Noonan, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

"A taut, twisting thriller...hugely impressive."
—Brian McGilloway, New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost

"An engrossing story.”
—Lisa Black, bestselling author of Unpunished

“Readers will be eager for the next installment.”
Bookish

“A very well-executed story.”
Seattle Book Review

of 562

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.