Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2018 Trade

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 11, 2018 On Sale Date: Oct 02, 2018 Carton Quantity: 44 $19.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 11, 2018 On Sale Date: Oct 02, 2018 Carton Quantity: 44 $16.95 USD
  • Catalogues

The Ambassador of What
Stories
By (author): Adrian Michael Kelly
9781770414174 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Short Stories Toronto Oct 02, 2018
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.5 x 0.43 in 184 pages ECW Press a misFit book

Slogging through the miles of a city marathon, an 11-year-old boy encounters small miracles; about to marry one of her patients in a home for the elderly, a nurse asks her estranged son to come to the wedding and give her away; home from university, a young man has Christmas dinner with his hard-up dad in a bistro behind a rural gas bar. Men and boys and maleness, money and its lack, the long haunt of childhood, marriage and divorce — these lie at the heart of The Ambassador of What. Driven by an ear for how we talk, how we feel, how we fail, and how we love, these are tough and tender stories that take hold, and linger.

Short Description

A debut short story collection attuned to the world as it is—the voices of Adrian Michael Kelly’s working-class world crackle with an energy that’s at once unexpected and beautiful.

Sales and Market Bullets


  • Literary short stories that are linked

  • Stories about fathers, sons, and family

  • Potential podcast advertising targeted to commuters

Audience

For readers of Michael Winter

Adrian Michael Kelly is the author of the novel Down Sterling Road. His short fiction has appeared three times in Best Canadian Stories and in the Journey Prize Anthology. He grew up with his father in Campbellford, ON, and currently lives in Kingston.

“Kelly is an adroit writer capable of rendering the trials of his brooding male protagonists fresh and meaningful . . . Scottish roots, working-class life, poetic heartbreak, keen observation, rich dialogue, and a gentle, ribbing humour run through these stories and the father-son banter is one of the most rewarding aspects of the collection.” — Quill & Quire

“The way Kelly wields (and welds together) words is astounding . . . When your brain finally clicks into Kelly’s rhythm, Ambassador accomplishes something rare: it feels fresh, a brand-new mode of storytelling; it rearticulates your way of seeing the world, reprograms your brain, gets your feet tapping to a different beat. And this is what makes it a book worth slowing down for.” — Canadian Notes & Queries

The Ambassador of What is full of powerful stories not only of father and son but son and mother and brother and sister. All are well-written in a sparse prose that reflects well on how estranged family members speak to one another as they try to bridge the years and the opportunities lost by not maintaining closer connections. There is something for everyone in The Ambassador of What, but particularly for fathers and sons, whether they are close or separated by other events beyond their control.” — Miramichi Reader

“Adrian’s characters are torn between the almost sense-less intellectual life promised them by literature and their education, and their sweaty, violent, and violated origins in the world of hopeless work and father-and-son struggles to keep failure at bay.” — Richard Harrison, winner, Governor General’s Award for Poetry

“Taut as a flexed muscle, deft as a sideways glance, Adrian Kelly’s stories pull us into the tender, brittle world of fathers and sons. An illuminating addition to Canada’s new rural noir.” — Merilyn Simonds, bestselling author of Refuge

of 27

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.