Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Raincoast "Books to Look For" - May 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Sands of Arawiya 1
We Hunt the Flame
By (author): Hafsah Faizal
9780374311544 Hardcover, Dust jacket English Young Adult : Age (years) from 14 - 18 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General May 14, 2019 Print Run: 100000
$24.99 CAD
Active 6 x 9 x 1.48 in 480 pages Farrar Straus & Giroux Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

A BuzzFeed Pick for "YA Books You Absolutely Must Read This Spring"
ABustle's Most Anticipated 2019 YA Release
A Paste Magazine's Top 10 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2019
A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2019
A PopSugar Best YA Book of 2019

"Lyrical and spellbinding" —Marieke Njikamp, #1New York TimesBestselling Author

Set in a richly detailed world inspired by ancient Arabia, Hafsah Faizal'sWe Hunt the Flame—first in the Sands of Arawiya duology—is a gripping debut of discovery, conquering fear, and taking identity into your own hands.

People lived because she killed. People died because he lived.

Zafira is the Hunter, disguising herself as a man when she braves the cursed forest of the Arz to feed her people. Nasir is the Prince of Death, assassinating those foolish enough to defy his autocratic father, the sultan. If Zafira was exposed as a girl, all of her achievements would be rejected; if Nasir displayed his compassion, his father would punish him in the most brutal of ways. Both Zafira and Nasir are legends in the kingdom of Arawiya—but neither wants to be.

War is brewing, and the Arz sweeps closer with each passing day, engulfing the land in shadow. When Zafira embarks on a quest to uncover a lost artifact that can restore magic to her suffering world and stop the Arz, Nasir is sent by the sultan on a similar mission: retrieve the artifact and kill the Hunter. But an ancient evil stirs as their journey unfolds—and the prize they seek may pose a threat greater than either can imagine.

Hafsah Faizal is theNew York Timesbestselling author ofWe Hunt the Flame, and the founder of IceyDesigns, where she creates websites for authors and beauteous goodies for everyone else. When she’s not writing, she can be found designing, deciding between Assassin’s Creed and Skyrim, or traversing the world. Born in Florida and raised in California, she now resides in Texas with her family and a library of books waiting to be devoured. Visit her athafsahfaizal.com.

“Drawing inspiration from ancient Arabia,We Hunt the Flame gives exquisitely detailed insight into a cultural experience; this debut, about identity and unlikely allies, features subtly nuanced and deeply reflective characters. Layering high-stakes action with moods ranging from casual humor to raw anguish, Faizal bends fantasy tropes to her will to tell a fresh and gripping story about love, honor, and self-discovery that will leave readers scrambling for more.” —Booklist,starred review

“Faizal matches a sweeping, ancient Arabian setting of shifting sand dunes, crumbling ruins, and fickle magic with an engrossing tale of political intrigue and human and divine warring powers. That sense of epicness, however, is carefully grounded by her deeply flawed, morally conflicted, and endlessly fascinating characters; as individuals, they are each interesting, but it’s the developing dynamic among the group that is truly compelling. . .Fans of Bardugo’sSix of Crows or Chokshi’sThe Star-Touched Queen will be thrilled with the book’s impressive world building, stellar cast, and intricate story.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books,starred review

“Lyrical and filled with adventure, a slow-burn romance, and an unforgettable cast of characters in a world based on ancient Arabia, this is a debut series not to be missed. . .Fans of Sabaa Tahir’sAn Ember in the Ashes and Tomi Adeyemi’sChildren of Blood and Bone should get excited for their next obsession.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books,starred review

“Faizal builds a world of immense detail and complexity. Readers smell the different foods in the marketplace and begin to understand the many layers of each culture in Arawiya. . .Faizal explores the strength of an independent female character in a world that silences women. As a result, Zafira’s courage will teach readers the power of the human spirit.” —VOYA,starred review

“Debut author Faizal paints a vivid world, inspired by ancient Arabia and its mythology, that will appeal to fantasy and romance readers as well as fans of the Assassin's Creed video games. . .An appealing spin on traditional fantasy elements.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Hafsah Faizal creates a dazzling and beautiful world that will make you not want to put this book down.” —Seventeen Magazine

“Faizal’s strong debut develops its engaging premise with evocative worldbuilding and memorable characters. . .Lush descriptions of setting and food offer a vivid atmosphere, and the slow-brewing romance is an engaging contrast to the harrowing emotional and physical journey at the heart of the story.” —Publishers Weekly

Hafsah Faizal's writing is so lush and evocative thatWe Hunt the Flame is gripping right from the first page.” —PopSugar

of 26

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.