Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

August 2019 Young Adult Fiction

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
To Be Honest
By (author): Maggie Ann Martin
9781250309198 Paperback, Trade English Young Adult : Age (years) from 13 - 18 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Eating Disorders & Body Image Aug 20, 2019 Print Run: 30000
$14.99 CAD
Active 5.52 x 8.18 x 0.86 in 320 pages Square Fish
 
NPR Best Book of the Year 2018, Long-listed

The author ofThe Big F is back with another snappy, utterly relatable contemporary young adult novel about loving yourself and forging your own path, perfect for fans of Julie Murphy and Jennifer Niven.

Savannah is dreading being home alone with her overbearing mother after her big sister—and best friend—goes off to college. But if she can just get through senior year, she'll be able to escape to college, too. What she doesn't count on is that her mother's obsession with weight has only grown deeper since her appearance on an extreme weight-loss show,and now Savvy's mom is pressuring her even harder to be constantly mindful of what she eats.

Between her mom's diet-helicoptering, missing her sister, and worrying about her collegiate future, Savvy has enough to worry about. And then she meets George, the cute new kid at school who has insecurities of his own. As Savvy and George grow closer, they help each other discover how to live in the moment and enjoy the here and now before it disappears.

To Be Honest is another sharp, witty novel from Maggie Ann Martin, about a spunky heroine who is dealing with very real issues—body image, parental pressure, loneliness, first love, and finding your way—with heart and humor.

Praise forTo Be Honest:

"Savvy’s story is a welcome one in today’s YA market and will help spread a much-needed message to teens about parental mental health issues and the potential dangers of diet culture. A first purchase for libraries serving adolescents." —School Library Journal,starred review

"This summer read tackles difficult subjects—anxiety and mental health, eating disorders, and more—while still keeping ita light and fun story about all kinds of love: parental, sibling, friendship, romantic, and most importantly, loving yourself." —Bustle

Maggie Ann Martin, author ofThe Big FandTo Be Honest, hails from Des Moines, Iowa, but moonlights as a New Yorker. She has a shiny new BA in English and journalism from the University of Iowa, the most welcoming literary community in the world. When she is not writing, you can find her binge-watching TV shows or passionately fangirling over fictional characters on the Internet.

Praise forTo Be Honest:

"I cannot tell you how incredibly refreshing this is! I love that the book, itself, is not obsessed with its plus-size main character.Maggie Ann Martin actually allows us to look past Savvy's weight into other aspects of her life, and it's a shame that books like this are so few and far between." —NPR

"To Be Honest by Maggie Ann Martin took my emotions on a joyride and didn’t let them off until the very end. More and more Young Adult novels are featuring serious themes even though it’s not the focus of the book and I absolutely love it. If this story sounds like your cup of tea, I highly recommend picking it up." —The Young Folks

"This is a super sweet novel that’s surprisingly lighthearted despite some of the pretty serious issues dealt with throughout (eating disorders, living with anxiety, complicated family dynamics, etc.). . .Savvy is unerringly body positive (with some occasional moments of insecurity, just like anyone)." —Book Riot

"To Be Honest breaks down the ways criticism masked as concern can be so harmful to young women. And it’san empowering reminder to love our bodies, regardless of size." —HelloGiggles

"Unapologetically promotes healthy body image and love for oneself. Savvy and her mother provide the reader with diametrically opposed perspectives concerning the psychological impact of body shaming: Savvy possesses a strong, positive image while her mother derives self-worth from a scale. . .Educators and librarians seeking literature that resonates with female readers who struggle with body image will want to add this novel to their shelves." —VOYA

"To be honest. . . we loved the latest novel by Maggie Ann Martin! . . .With her [Savannah],Martin has created a beautifully rendered portrait of a high school senior. She feels real and interesting, and like someone who you’d definitely want to drive around blasting Eminem with, if only because that’s her favorite past time!" —Hypable

"A refreshing YA contemporary novel that wrestles withself-love, anxiety, and family. . . I would imagine people who lovedLeah on the Offbeat,The Upside of Unrequited, orTurtles All the Way Down will also love this novel." —Better Books and Other Things

"I freaking adore this book!To Be Honest isthe most honest young adult contemporary novel I have read in a while. . .this book is worth every penny." —It's A Book Life

"This book wasimpossible to put down from the moment I started reading, and I flew through it so quickly that I could honestly read it again. . . I'm so thankful to Maggie Ann Martin for writing this fantastic book and to Swoon Reads for publishing it!" —My Endless Shelf

"To Be Honest had me laughing and I even shed a few tears. Savannah is sucha smart and strong character who is doing her best to love her body." —The Book Dutchesses

"To Be Honest has to beone of the mosthonest reads out there today!" —Bookish Wisps

Praise forThe Big F:

"Martin’s first book isnothing short of amazing! You’ll laugh, cry and scream with every page as you follow Danielle and her realistic yet zany post–high-school antics. . . .The Big F deserves an A-plus for being the quirkiest, most fun-loving read of 2017 so far!" —RT Book Reviews

"A debut novel sure to resonate with high schoolers who eagerly anticipate graduation and the start of college. . . .Danielle is a savvy, likable character with whom teens will easily identify. . . . Romance fans will enjoy this fast-paced story that features an interesting set of characters and satisfying conclusion." —School Library Journal

"Danielle is a likeable character who tries to do the right thing. Readers will have confidence in her even when she sometimes lacks self-assurance. . . .An easy, enjoyable read." —VOYA

"'When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.' I’m pretty sure that that quote epitomizesThe Big F. . . .Fun, cute, and totally relatable." —Book Allure

of 83

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.