Advanced Search

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Anansi Fall 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
The Lost Decades of Uncle Chow Tung
By (author): Ian Hamilton
9781487004026 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / International Crime & Mystery Jan 05, 2021
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.25 x 8 x 0.9 in | 0.75 lb 352 pages House of Anansi Press Inc Spiderline

International bestselling author Ian Hamilton returns with a riveting new novel featuring fan-favourite Uncle Chow Tung, who is called upon to end a violent turf war between rival gangs and stop Chinese authorities from eliminating the triad societies once and for all.

Hong Kong, 1995. Two years before Hong Kong is to be returned to the People’s Republic of China, the Communist government has its eye on the New Territories, and tensions are running high among the triads. At the root of the tensions is a fear of what will become of Hong Kong after the Communists take over. Seeking to strengthen their positions, several triad gangs begin a violent turf war in Macau that quickly spreads to Hong Kong. Uncle realizes that prolonged violence will result in a crackdown by the organized crime bureau of the Hong Kong police, and steps in to mediate a ceasefire. His efforts are met with resistance, and soon his own territory of Fanling is attacked by a neighbouring gang.

Meanwhile, Uncle expresses his concerns about the future to his partners in China. Their response comes as a surprise and leads to an unexpected outcome that will have a lasting effect on the triad societies for decades to come.

IAN HAMILTON is the acclaimed author of fourteen novels in the Ava Lee series and three in the Lost Decades of Uncle Chow Tung series. His books have been shortlisted for numerous prizes, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Barry Award, and the Lambda Literary Prize, and are national bestsellers. BBC Culture named Hamilton one of the ten mystery/crime writers from the last thirty years who should be on your bookshelf. Bonnie Jack is his first stand-alone novel. 


“Hamilton does a masterly job capturing the sights, smells, and sounds of Hong Kong as he charts Chow’s struggle to survive.” Publishers Weekly

“A welcome origin story about the man who helped shape Ava Lee.” Booklist

“A magnetic tale of intrigue among rivals and cohorts, the early ascent of ‘Uncle’ Chow Tung within the Hong Kong triads is exhilarating and utterly convincing. This is the first in a spin-off series that you’ll want to keep spinning forever. Jump on at the start!” — John Farrow, bestselling author of the Émile Cinq-Mars series

“Ian Hamilton’s knowledge of the triads and their operations is fascinating — and slightly unsettling. He unwinds his tale of Uncle’s origins with such detail that readers will wonder how he grew so familiar without being a triad himself. A must-read for fans of the Ava Lee novels!” — John Lawrence Reynolds, Arthur Ellis Award–winning author of Beach Strip

“I didn’t think anything could top Ian Hamilton’s Ava Lee novels for originality and style, but his backstory about the rise of Uncle Chow is even better … This one is one of his best.” Globe and Mail

“[Uncle’s] rise through the ranks of the Hong Kong triads makes for fascinating reading … Those fresh to Hamilton’s work or simply looking for something familiar but different, meanwhile, will find much to like in the author’s new series.” Quill & Quire

“[Ian Hamilton is] a lively writer with an attentive eye for the details of complicated suspense.” London Free Press

"Readers will root for Uncle as he walks the tightrope to maintain the Hong Kong triads." - Publishers Weekly

of 19

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.