Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2020 Trade

more
Thirst for Justice
A Novel
By (author): David R. Boyd
9781770412408 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Legal Seattle Oct 27, 2020
$22.95 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.5 x 0.73 in | 0.88 lb 320 pages ECW Press

“Fast and fierce” – Kirkus Reviews

For readers of John Grisham and William Deverell comes a political thriller ripped from today’s headlines. Lawyer and environmental activist David R. Boyd writes a riveting thriller about the psychological toll of a humanitarian crisis. Filled with tension and courtroom drama, Thirst for Justice will have you questioning what you believe about right versus wrong.

Michael MacDougall is a talented trauma surgeon whose life in Seattle is slowly unraveling. Frustrated as an ER doctor and with his marriage in trouble, he volunteers with a medical aid charity in the Congo. Disconsolate at the lives he cannot save in the desperate conditions of the region, he is shattered by a roadside confrontation with the mercenary Mai Mai that results in unthinkable losses.

Back home in Seattle, he is haunted by his experiences in Africa and what he sees as society’s failure to provide humanitarian aid to those who most desperately need it. Locked in a downward spiral, he becomes obsessed with making his government listen to him and dreams up an act of terrorism to shock his nation awake.

Activist and lawyer David Boyd’s debut novel is a taut political thriller that begs the question: how far is too far when you’re seeking justice?

Short Description


A legal and political thriller ripped from today’s headlines. Michael MacDougall volunteers for a medical aid charity in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Traumatized by his experiences in Africa, he goes down a path that he never would have imagined possible, resulting in a global manhunt and a riveting trial.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Lawyer and environmental activist David Boyd draws on his wealth of legal expertise and knowledge of environmental crises to create a riveting eco-thriller filled with courtroom drama.

  • For readers of John Grisham looking for new voices and a tense and believable trial involving trending topics.

  • Book club questions will be available.


Audience



  • Readers of political and environmental thrillers like John Grisham’s The Pelican Brief, The Appeal, and Gray Mountain

  • Readers of Boyd’s previous books

  • People invested in the humanitarian crisis and seeking a fresh perspective

  • Readers of Beverley McLachlin’s Full Disclosure

David R. Boyd is currently the UN’s Special Rapporteur on human rights and the environment and an associate professor of law, policy, and sustainability at the Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability at the University of British Columbia. He is the award-winning author of eight books, including The Optimistic Environmentalist and The Rights of Nature. He lives on Pender Island, B.C.

“Fast and fierce, fueled by a knowledge of the legal system that’s equally energizing and disheartening.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Part thriller, part political commentary, and part courtroom drama, this novel will stick with the reader long after the final page.” — Publishers Weekly

“A fast-moving and well-researched political thriller, Thirst for Justice tracks the tidal wave of consequences as one man’s desperate ploy to save the world turns into a struggle to save himself.” — Patrick Tarr, writer/executive producer of the CTV drama, Cardinal

“For Fans of John Grisham,” — 49th Shelf

“If you are collecting Canadian mystery authors, or environmental thrillers, Thirst for Justice belongs on your shelf.” — Kingdom Books

of 29

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.