Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Fiction titles on NetGalley

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780593197875 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9780593291139 Downloadable audio file
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Jan 05, 2021 Carton Quantity:24 $22.00 CAD
    $16.00 USD
  • Catalogues

The Ballad of Hattie Taylor
By (author): Susan Andersen
9780593197868 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Romance / Historical / American Jan 05, 2021
$22.00 CAD
Active 5.4 x 8.2 x 1.1 in | 0.72 lb 400 pages Berkley
A daring young woman pushes back against societal constraints in a feminist, coming-of-age Western romance from New York Times bestselling author Susan Andersen.

It’s a new era for Hattie. In the small but bustling town of Mattawa, turn-of-the-century Oregon offers a new kind of frontier: a vast and exciting range of possibilities for women—to a point. It’s a time for change, and no one is more eager to embrace new roads than self-proclaimed black sheep Hattie Taylor. If only she could embrace Jake Murdock too. But Jake has never looked at her like that—until now.

Jake can’t remember a time he was so confused. Hattie is off-limits. The provoking spitfire is under his mother’s protection—his protection—and he has always belonged to another. But now, with the passing of his wife, Jake feels something shift between them. Frustratingly aware of Hattie as a woman, he struggles with new feelings, new questions, new desires.

But when a desperate decision born of good intentions turns out to have ugly repercussions, Hattie confronts a cruel reality she can no longer ignore: the truth of where women really stand and the actions men take to keep them there. To navigate her new world of tainted law and privileged order, Hattie will draw on the strength of the women around her—and Jake will learn what it truly means to support the woman he loves.

Story Locale: 1900s Mattawa, Oregon

HISTORICAL DEBUT FOR BELOVED AUTHOR: Susan has taken all the magic from her beloved contemporary romances and crafted a sweeping and feminist historical novel that is timeless and classic

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR: Susan was a trailblazer in contemporary romance propelling her Sisterhood Diaries series onto the New York Times bestseller list, now after an hiatus, Susan is back to trailblaze the market with a trade historical western

CLASSIC ROMANCE WITH MODERN SENSITIVITIES: Perfect for fans of Evie Dunmore’s Bringing Down the Duke, A Question of Virtue gives readers the passion they love and the subversive, patriarchy-challenging quesitons they crave

COMING-OF-AGE STORY: A thoughtfully rendered exploration of what it was like for women growing up in the American West at the turn of the century and the difficult position they straddle between sheltered ignorance and a modernizing world

TRAILBLAZING IN TRADE: A Question of Virtue’s accessible but sophisticated blend of gender politics, history, and romance make it the perfect fit for trade; this book will do for historical western romance what Bringing Down the Duke did for Victorian romance

Susan Andersen is a New York Times bestselling author best known for her contemporary romantic suspense. The proud mother of a grown son, Susan is a native of the Pacific Northwest, where she lives with her husband and two cats. The Ballad of Hattie Taylor is her first historical novel.

Author Residence: Seattle, WA

Marketing: Pre-publication trade advertising

Online advertising

ARC distribution and giveaways

Pre-publication consumer outreach

Social media campaign

Influencer outreach

Consumer sweepstakes

Library marketing campaign

Book club promotions

Discussion guide bound in book

Book Club kit

E-mail marketing campaign

Feature on PRH.com, Read It Forward, The Smitten Word

susanandersen.com

Facebook @SusanAndersenFanPage



Publicity: Launch event in the Pacific Northwest

National print publicity

Online publicity campaign

Blog campaign

Pitch author op-eds and essays



Author Website: susanandersen.com

Author Social Media: Facebook @SusanAndersenFanPage

“Susan Andersen’s vivid, fiercely emotional writing ignites a dazzling historical novel that sweeps the reader along on a spirited heroine’s passionate quest for justice, love and happiness. In Andersen’s hands the dramatic era of the early 20th century becomes the perfect backdrop for exploring a host of women’s issues that resonate today more strongly than ever. I loved Hattie’s story.”—Amanda Quick, New York Times bestselling author

“A survivor’s romance, an evocative and compelling journey from child to woman set in the early years of female emancipation.”—Stephanie Laurens, New York Times bestselling author

”A powerful plot, vibrant characterization, and stirring dialogue make this romance a delight.“Publishers Weekly

”The Ballad of Hattie Taylor oozes nostalgia even as it vacillates from a lively, page-turning coming of age story, a tender romance that emphasizes care and patience, and a harrowing tale of one woman’s experiences on the American frontier.“—BookPage

”Fans of Anne of Green Gables will rejoice over this romantic, enthralling tale set in Oregon during the early 20th century."Woman’s World

of 580

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.