Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Fiction titles on NetGalley

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The Fallen Angel
By (author): Tracy Borman
9780802157614 Hardcover, Cloth over boards English General Trade FICTION / Historical / General Nov 20, 2020
$40.50 CAD
Active 6.45 x 9.23 x 1.47 in | 700 gr Grove/Atlantic Atlantic Monthly Press
In the gripping conclusion to Tracy Borman’s Stuart-era trilogy, Frances Gorges must face a dangerous new enemy deep within the court of James I

Life has never been quiet for Frances Gorges at the court of King James, but after finding herself at the center of plots and conspiracies for many years both as an accused witch and a secret Catholic, by 1614 Frances hopes to distance herself from the decadence and ruthlessness of the aging and venal monarch. However, when a handsome stranger appears at a courtier’s country estate, he immediately draws the wandering eyes of the King, throwing the established order of the court into upheaval. George Villiers is ambitious and violent, ready to take down whatever—and whoever—stands in his way, including Frances and her husband Sir Thomas Tyringham.

New friends and old alliances—from Francis Bacon and Prince Charles to Sir Walter Raleigh—will offer Frances ways to resist the treachery of Villiers, but danger and Catholic plotting always lurks just around the corner, and sometimes from unexpected sources. With her meticulous eye for detail and evocative storytelling, Tracy Borman’sThe Fallen Angel is a riveting conclusion to her trilogy set during the first Stuart monarch’s reign.

Tracy Borman is England’s joint Chief Curator of Historic Royal Palaces and Chief Executive of the Heritage Education Trust. She is the author of a number of highly acclaimed books includingHenry VIII and the Men Who Made Him;The Private Lives of the Tudors: Uncovering the Secrets of Britain's Greatest Dynasty;Thomas Cromwell: The Untold Story of Henry VIII's Most Faithful Servant;Queen of the Conqueror: The Life of Matilda, Wife of William I;Elizabeth's Women: Friends, Rivals, and Foes Who Shaped the Virgin Queen;Witches: A Tale of Sorcery, Scandal and Seduction; as well as the novelsThe King’s Witch andThe Devil’s Slave. Borman is also a regular broadcaster and public speaker.
tracyborman.co.uk
@tracyborman

Praise forThe Fallen Angel:

“Lots of fascinating detail and insight into James’s backstabbing court . . . An enjoyable read.”Times (UK)

“The final installment of Borman’s lively trilogy—begun inThe King’s Witch andThe Devil’s Slave—about a secretly Catholic woman embedded in the treacherous court of King James I . . . Scenes starring [George] Villiers come alive as the other characters cope, ineffectually and overcautiously, with the viper in their midst. Entertaining and delicious Stuart-era scandalmongering.”Kirkus Reviews

Praise forThe Devil’s Slave:

“The pages turn briskly, apace with Frances’s increasing bravery. Surprising revelations and a cliffhanger prepare us for Volume 3. As Borman’s protagonist grows a spine, she’s starting to grow on us.”Kirkus Reviews

Praise forThe King’s Witch:

“A story weaved around real-life characters by an acclaimed historian . . . Vivid . . . Everything you would want to read in a novel, ranging from palatial royals and intrigues to betrayals to a love story . . . Knowledgeable and entertaining.”Washington Book Review, “Essential Novels for This Summer”

“The incredibly detailed and vivid narrative transports readers to a time when women were seen as no more than a commodity to be traded, and conspiracy loomed in every corner. This engaging page-turner is enhanced by flawless prose and an absorbing plot, making it a perfect choice for fans of historical fiction and post-Tudor England.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Borman lures readers into this first in a series of historical novels set during the reign of the Stuarts . . . [She] is an astute chronicler of 17th-century English life, keenly depicting the excesses of the court and the dangers of religious persecution. The vivid detail and effortless storytelling will appeal to many readers, particularly fans of historicals in the vein of Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory.”Publishers Weekly

“Historian Borman embeds a fictional character in the royal court of James I in her promising debut novel . . . By introducing Tom Wintour, a real-life figure, as Frances’ love interest, Borman adds a little historical heft and a lot of spice to her tale. The action culminates with the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, as the stage is nicely set for volume two of this projected trilogy.”Booklist

“Tracy Borman’s debut historical novel has it all: conspiracy, betrayal, dark intrigues, bloody deeds, a poignant love story—and the most famous plot in English history. In the debauched court of James I, nothing is as it seems, loyalties are torn, and danger is all around. At the centre of it all, Borman has created an engaging and courageous heroine, and her highly accomplished writing ensures that the reader is swept along to a shattering and shocking climax.”—Alison Weir, author ofThe Six Wives of Henry VIII

“Exquisitely written, sumptuous in detail and thrillingly plotted,The King’s Witch takes you deep into the darkness of the early Jacobean Court and into the heart of the wonderful, unforgettable Lady Frances. The first of what promises to be a magnificent trilogy.”—Kate Williams, author ofBecoming Queen Victoria andYoung Elizabeth: The Making of the Queen

of 580

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.