has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Juvenile & YA Fiction on NetGalley

more
  • Other Formats

    9780735267749 Paperback / softback, Trade paperback (US), $10.99 9781774881422 Downloadable audio file, Library binding 9781774881415 Downloadable audio file 9780735267732 Fixed format, EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 580L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date: Oct 20, 2020 Carton Quantity: 24
  • Catalogues

The Fabled Stables: Willa the Wisp
By (author): Jonathan Auxier Illustrated by: Olga Demidova
Jonathan Auxier ,

Illustrated by :

Olga Demidova

Imprint:

Puffin Canada

ISBN:

9780735267725

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 6 - 9, Grade (US) 1 - 4
Oct 20, 2020
$16.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.56in x 6.5 x 0.52 in | 0.76 lb

Page Count:

96 pages

Illustrations:

SPOT COLOR ART THROUGHOUT
Puffin Canada
JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
The first book in a magical chapter-book adventure series by the Governor General Award-winning author of Sweep.

Auggie Pound is eight years old and has the greatest job of all time: he cares for all the animals in the Fabled Stables. The Fabled Stables house the rarest creatures in existence—all of them one-of-a-kind. Auggie’s job is to care for these creatures, as well as track down and safely capture endangered magical beasts in the wild. Some mornings, he arrives to find an empty stall with the name of a new creature to rescue. One day, the Stables rearrange themselves out of the blue, creating a new stall. The sign over the gate says, “Wisp.” But what is a wisp and where is it? All Auggie can see is a moonlit swamp stretching out before him. Then a hungry HOWLLLLLLL rings out in the darkness. It’s up to Auggie to go into the swamp to find the wisp before it’s too late.

AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR: Since the publication of his first novel, Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, Jonathan has been on award shortlists across the country, most notably winning the 2015 TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award and the 2018 Governor General’s Award; he is loved by children and adults alike.

BRAND-NEW AUDIENCE: The Fabled Stables series is a new chapter book trilogy for budding fantasy readers.

FAST ROLL-OUT: Book 1 is publishing Fall 20; Book 2 Spring 21; Book 3 Fall 21

STAND-OUT STORY-TELLING: Jonathan’s writing always has the feel of a classic in the making—he never writes down for kids, even in this story for younger readers.

ENGAGING ILLUSTRATIONS THROUGHOUT: Olga Demidova is the illustrator—she will also be illustrating our upcoming picture book, Petal the Angry Cow, by Maureen Fergus (Tundra, Summer 2021).

BIG CANADIAN PRESENCE: Although he lives in the US, Jonathan has CDN-US dual citizenship and loves to come to Canada.

POPULAR, MEDIA-SAVVY AUTHOR: Jonathan is an experienced screenwriter with many media connections, not to mention an entertaining and energetic performer.

STRONG US PUBLISHING PARTNER: As we have for all of Jonathan’s books, we are co-publishing with Abrams in the US.

JONATHAN AUXIER teaches creative writing and children’s literature. He is the author of Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, which was a Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award Honour Book and was also shortlisted for the Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy and the Diamond Willow Award. His second book, The Night Gardener, was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Award, the Silver Birch Award and the CLA Book of the Year for Children Award. His third book, Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard, received four starred reviews and was shortlisted for the Sunburst Fantasy Award in Canada. His most recent novel, Sweep, was similarly critically acclaimed and is the winner of several awards, including the 2018 Governor General’s Award. Auxier grew up near Vancouver and now lives in Pittsburgh with his family.

www.thescop.com Social: @jonathanauxier

Author Residence: Pittsburgh, PA

OLGA DEMIDOVA was born and raised in Russia. She studied at the Moscow Art Institute of Applied Arts. Olga started work as an animator, but her tremendous passion for illustration changed the direction she works in. Now she works with publishers from all over the world and has published books and apps in Russia, Belarus and the USA, mostly for children.

Illustrator Residence: Raleigh, North Carolina

Illustrator Hometown: Moscow, Russia

Marketing: Facebook advertising



Publicity: Consider select GTA events





Author Website: www.thescop.com

Author Social Media: @jonathanauxier

One of the Ontario Library Association's 2020 Best Bets selection, Junior Fiction category

“Whimsical fantasy with the right amount of speed and cleverness for the audience.” ―STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews

"Words and pictures partner to create a captivating, promising series starter that boasts quirky secondary characters and a sympathetic hero." ―STARRED REVIEW, Publishers Weekly

"Readers will root for Auggie and Willa the Wisp." ―School Library Journal

"Demidova’s chapter illustrations sparkle with whimsy and color and appear on almost every page, pulling double duty by enhancing the story and supporting children ready to step beyond leveled readers. . . Auxier’s gleeful and imaginative writing will charm." ―Booklist

"Great for reading aloud, this lively first entry in a projected series offers a curious setting and an imaginative cast of characters."―Horn Book Magazine


“Fans of The Princess in Black and Mercy Watson will be won over by this magical new series.” ―100 Scope Notes

of 439

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.