has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: May 11, 2021 On Sale Date: Jun 01, 2021 Carton Quantity: 44 $19.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: May 11, 2021 On Sale Date: Jun 01, 2021 Carton Quantity: 44 $15.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Unatoned
A Memoir
By (author): Brent LaPorte
Brent LaPorte

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770415041

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Jun 01, 2021
$19.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5 x 0.44 in | 0.5 lb

Page Count:

192 pages

Illustrations:

10 10 photographs, black and white
ECW Press
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Memoirs|Violence and abuse in society|Coping with abuse
Rural Ontario
  • Short Description
In his new memoir, Brent LaPorte questions his relationship with his dead, alcoholic, abusive father and offers insight and support to those who have experienced similar trauma.

For readers of Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son comes a heart-wrenching memoir that interrogates an abusive father and his dark legacy.

Children who experience physical, mental, and emotional trauma at the hands of a parent often grow into adults who suffer from mental illness and find it difficult to build lasting, healthy relationships. Some find it impossible to integrate into society and are constantly searching for the love and approval that they never received as a child. The abuse impacts all aspects of the survivor’s life.

In his new memoir, Brent LaPorte asks his dead father questions that will never be answered. Unatoned not only explores the dark nature of LaPorte’s father, but the darkness that has, at times, enveloped him, too. In confronting life choices that have hurt those around him, he asks: is it possible to break the cycle of a violent, alcoholic family history and live a life that is productive, loving and, above all, happy?

In exploring the challenges of his youth, married life, and careers, LaPorte lays bare failings and triumphs, sharing pain and struggle to ultimately tell readers: none of us are alone. This is not a “self-help” book, rather the story of a man’s request for atonement for sins past. His father’s — and his own.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • LaPorte is unflinchingly honest about his relationship with his alcoholic and abusive father and offers readers insight into how to support those experiencing trauma of this nature.

  • “This fine first novel begins with a shocking revelation and ends with another one … An impressive debut from an author who bears close attention.” — Booklist on Hope Burned


Audience



  • CBC listeners

  • Survivors of abuse

Promotional Plans



  • Advance copies on Netgalley and Edelweiss

  • Librarian and educator outreach

  • CBC radio and narrative podcast campaign

  • Feature in ECW Readers Newsletter

Brent LaPorte was born in the Ottawa Valley and through his tumultuous childhood moved several times throughout the Valley and Northern Ontario. He lives in Courtice, Ontario, has been married for 30 years, and has two adult children. This is his second book.

of 27

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.