has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Buy Indie, Buy Local Co-op Package

more
Moon of the Crusted Snow
A Novel
By (author): Waubgeshig Rice
Waubgeshig Rice

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770414006

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Oct 02, 2018
$19.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.52 in | 0.86 lb

Page Count:

224 pages
ECW Press
FICTION / Literary
Fiction: general and literary|Dystopian and utopian fiction|Narrative theme: Sense of place|Relating to Native American people
Rural Ontario
 
Evergreen Award 2019, Winner Campbell Memorial Award 2019, Short-listed First Nation Communities READ Indigenous Literature Award 2019, Short-listed
  • Short Description
A post-apocalyptic novel set in a remote northern First Nations community. As their tenuous links to the southern world wink out, Evan and his community learn to rely again on the old ways to survive. But a wendigo southerner arrives to threaten everything.

National Bestseller

Winner of the 2019 OLA Forest of Reading Evergreen Award

Shortlisted for the 2019 John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Shortlisted for the 2019/20 First Nation Communities READ Indigenous Literature Award

2020 Burlington Library Selection; 2020 Hamilton Reads One Book One Community Selection; 2020 Region of Waterloo One Book One Community Selection; 2019 Ontario Library Association Ontario Together We Read Program Selection; 2019 Women’s National Book Association’s Great Group Reads; 2019 Amnesty International Book Club Pick

January 2020 Reddit r/bookclub pick of the month

“This slow-burning thriller is also a powerful story of survival and will leave readers breathless.” — Publishers Weekly

“Rice seamlessly injects Anishinaabe language into the dialogue and creates a beautiful rendering of the natural world … This title will appeal to fans of literary science-fiction akin to Cormac McCarthy as well as to readers looking for a fresh voice in indigenous fiction.” — Booklist

A daring post-apocalyptic novel from a powerful rising literary voice

With winter looming, a small northern Anishinaabe community goes dark. Cut off, people become passive and confused. Panic builds as the food supply dwindles. While the band council and a pocket of community members struggle to maintain order, an unexpected visitor arrives, escaping the crumbling society to the south. Soon after, others follow.

The community leadership loses its grip on power as the visitors manipulate the tired and hungry to take control of the reserve. Tensions rise and, as the months pass, so does the death toll due to sickness and despair. Frustrated by the building chaos, a group of young friends and their families turn to the land and Anishinaabe tradition in hopes of helping their community thrive again. Guided through the chaos by an unlikely leader named Evan Whitesky, they endeavor to restore order while grappling with a grave decision.

Blending action and allegory, Moon of the Crusted Snow upends our expectations. Out of catastrophe comes resilience. And as one society collapses, another is reborn.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • A post-apocalyptic thriller set in Northeastern Ontario west of James Bay

  • Author is a high profile CBC journalist influential on Twitter with 24.8K followers (@waub)

  • The book centers around a First Nation community of Anishinaabe

  • Historically, post-apocalyptic stories and themes haven’t been thoroughly explored from an Indigenous perspective in literary fiction

  • Examines the ongoing impacts of settler colonialism on Indigenous communities

  • A unique and compelling story about an Indigenous community by an Indigenous author


Audience


For readers of Richard Wagamese’s Medicine Walk

Promotional Plans



  • Pitch author to literary festivals across North America, esp. IFOA.

  • Liaise with the author's contacts at CBC (he is a high profile and influential journalist there with name recognition).

  • Send to trade review publications for increased US exposure (Quill & Quire, Library Journal, Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, etc.)

  • Pitch reviews at major dailies (New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post)

  • Pitch reviews at literary journals (The Malahat Review, Literary Review of Canada, Canadian Notes & Queries, The New Quarterly, Geist)

Waubgeshig Rice is an author and journalist originally from Wasauksing First Nation. His first short story collection, Midnight Sweatlodge, was inspired by his experiences growing up in an Anishinaabe community and won an Independent Publishers Book Award in 2012. His debut novel, Legacy, followed in 2014. In 2014, he received the Anishinabek Nation’s Debwewin Citation for excellence in First Nation Storytelling. He now splits his time between Sudbury and Wasauksing.

“This slow-burning thriller is also a powerful story of survival and will leave readers breathless.” — Publishers Weekly

“Rice seamlessly injects Anishinaabe language into the dialogue and creates a beautiful rendering of the natural world … This title will appeal to fans of literary science fiction akin to Cormac McCarthy as well as to readers looking for a fresh voice in indigenous fiction.” — Booklist

“The creeping tension and vividly drawn landscapes make Waubgeshig Rice’s characters’ choices all the more real.” — Toronto Star

Moon of the Crusted Snow sets itself apart — an apocalypse novel in reverse.” — Globe and Mail

“Rice complicates and demands a rethinking of the apocalyptic category itself, which is the book’s greatest revelation and strength … Rice’s writing is measured and he has a lovely ear for the cadence of conversation — humour, rage, and introspection all coming through the dialogue … Rice’s story teaches, but it’s not didactic; it’s original, and somehow takes the frenetic pace of a crisis, slows it down, and shows us its parts.” — Canadian Notes & Queries

of 30

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.