has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2022 Trade

more
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: HL870L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Apr 26, 2022 On Sale Date: May 17, 2022 Carton Quantity: 20 $24.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Apr 26, 2022 On Sale Date: May 17, 2022 Carton Quantity: 20 $19.95 USD
  • Catalogues

The Sisters Sputnik
A Novel
By (author): Terri Favro
Terri Favro

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770416086

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
May 17, 2022
$24.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.94 in | 1.15 lb

Page Count:

416 pages

Illustrations:

4 4 illustrations, black and white
ECW Press
FICTION / Science Fiction / Time Travel
Alternative history fiction|Science fiction: time travel|Science fiction: apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic
Toronto
  • Short Description
In this sequel to Sputnik’s Children, The Sisters Sputnik takes ‘undocumented time immigrant’ Debbie Reynolds Biondi and her apprentice Unicorn Girl on a wild ride through alternate worlds, into a possible future where robots rule and humans are banished to the past.

“It does what readers ask of a Storyteller: keeps things fast-moving and entertaining. It’s a breezy joy.” — Publishers Weekly

“Together, the Sisters Sputnik are the badassest kickass duo since Tank Girl and Jet Girl. If you like your speculative fiction sardonic, weird, sprightly, and intelligent, you will love this splendid book.” — Candas Jane Dorsey, author of Black Wine and Ice and Other Stories

An odyssey wrapped in a love story, set in a near-future of artificial people

The Sisters Sputnik are a time-traveling trio of storytellers-for-hire who are much in demand throughout the multiverse of 2,052 alternate worlds. Each world was created by the detonation of a nuclear bomb in Earth Standard Time, home of the Sisters’ leader, aging comic book creator Debbie Reynolds Biondi, her 20-something apprentice Unicorn Girl, and their pop culture–loving AI, Cassandra. Tales of Earth Standard Time-That-Was, from World Wars to the space race to Hollywood celebrities, have turned the Sisters into storytelling rock stars.

In a distant reality where books and music have disappeared, Debbie finds herself in bed with an old Earth Standard Time lover who begs her to tell him a story. Over one long, eventful night, she spins the epic of the Sisters’ adventures in alternate realities, starting with the theft of a book of evil comic strips in a post-pandemic Toronto full of ghost kitchens and robot-worshipping lost children known as junksters, to a disco-era purgatory where synthetic people are sending humans into the past through a reverse-engineered Statue of Liberty, to a version of the 1950s where the Sisters meet a rising star named Frank Sinatra and his girlfriend, the once-and-future Queen of England.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • A sci-fi adventure with a lost story at its heart, similar to Carlos Ruiz Zafón’s The Shadow of the Wind and Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale for the Time Being. Heavily influenced by superhero comic books and strips, the novel will appeal to fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven and Natalie Zina Walschots’s Hench.

  • The “synthetics” in the novel are based on real robots that the author saw at Carnegie Mellon and other universities while researching her pop science book, Generation Robot: A Century of Science Fiction, Fact and Speculation.

  • The Sisters Sputnik can be read as a standalone novel and also as a sequel to Sputnik’s Children, which was longlisted for Canada Reads 2020 and shortlisted for the 2018 Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, Adult Fiction, and received positive reviews from Publishers Weekly and Kirkus.

  • Favro combines four genres intelligently and entertainingly: comic books, apocalyptic, AI apocalypse, and time travel.

  • Both The Sisters Sputnik and Sputnik’s Children are influenced by Favro’s Italian-Canadian heritage, especially her grandmother’s years in New York City of the early 20th century. Her family history formed part of the narrative for a 2019 LuLu Films/TeleLatino Network documentary about Italian-Canadians at Ellis Island, where Favro appeared as an on-screen guide and storyteller.



Audience



  • Fans of Sputnik’s Children

  • Readers of the sci-fi/fantasy genre

  • Readers of apocalyptic fiction

  • Boomers and those who grew up in the ‘atomic age’

  • Comic book/superhero fans (especially of tongue-in-cheek series like Guardians of the Galaxy)


Raised in Niagara wine country, Terri Favro grew up with an electrician father who worked with the first factory robot and built his own robots at home. The experience fueled Favro’s lifelong love of science fiction, comic books, and space exploration. A novelist, storyteller, essayist, and graphic novel writer, Favro is also an award-winning advertising copywriter who worked on campaigns for emerging technologies that changed the world. Terri lives in Toronto.

“It does what readers ask of a Storyteller: keeps things fast-moving and entertaining. It’s a breezy joy.” — Publishers Weekly

“Time travelers, storytellers, and evolving synthetic beings lead Terri Favro’s tour de force novel … This rich, imaginative story is piled with threats both bygone and ongoing; it contains nostalgic callbacks to mid century dreams, but also an understanding of the dangers of nostalgia itself … The Sisters Sputnik is a multiverse tale unlike any you’ve read before.” — Foreword Reviews

“This innovative setting is filled with surprises, including personality-laden AIs, robot-worshipping lost children known as junksters, and a robot plot to return everybody to the country and era of their ancestors’ migration to Canada, keeping the reader thoroughly engaged throughout.” — Booklist Online

“Destined to become a sci-fi, pop culture classic, The Sisters Sputnik is sassy, smart, funny and sharp. A tilt-a-whirl through the ages, chronicled in Favro’s often hilarious and always insightful prose, with cameos by Sinatra and Elvis and a fabulously re-imagined Queen Elizabeth. We stop at Ellis Island, tour Toronto in loving detail and get to hang out at Studio 54. The novel deftly juggles the shifting cultures of generations past, present and future, seen through a steampunk lens — Terri Favro is sci-fi’s Douglas Coupland, chronicling our lives with a keen eye and taking the reader on a fabulous journey.” — Lisa de Nikolits, author of The Rage Room

“Terri Favro’s writing hums with otherworldly power. Brighter than Technicolor, faster than Wi-Fi. How lucky we are to exist at the same time, on the same planet, as this book. The Sisters Sputnik is pure delight.” — Paul Vermeersch, author of Shared Universe: New and Selected Poems 1995–2020

of 28

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.