has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2022 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: US CA
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Not yet available $28.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Not yet available Carton Quantity: 20 $21.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Lost Feast
Culinary Extinction and the Future of Food
By (author): Lenore Newman
Lenore Newman

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770416727

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Apr 05, 2022
$28.95 CAD
Forthcoming

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.71 in
ECW Press
NATURE / Environmental Conservation & Protection
 
Foreword INDIES 2019, Winner
  • Short Description
For readers of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain comes an entertaining yet scholarly book about the foods we have loved to death. From passenger pigeons to megafauna, Newman identifies certain foods vulnerable to human appetite and which foods we’ll struggle to protect in the future.

“Edifying and entertaining.” — Foreword Reviews, starred review

Taste Canada Silver Award Winner and Finalist for the Science Writers and Communicators of Canada Award

A rollicking exploration of the history and future of our favorite foods

When we humans love foods, we love them a lot. In fact, we have often eaten them into extinction, whether it is the megafauna of the Paleolithic world or the passenger pigeon of the last century. In Lost Feast, food expert Lenore Newman sets out to look at the history of the foods we have loved to death and what that means for the culinary paths we choose for the future. Whether it’s chasing down the luscious butter of local Icelandic cattle or looking at the impacts of modern industrialized agriculture on the range of food varieties we can put in our shopping carts, Newman’s bright, intelligent gaze finds insight and humor at every turn.

Bracketing the chapters that look at the history of our relationship to specific foods, Lenore enlists her ecologist friend and fellow cook, Dan, in a series of “extinction dinners” designed to recreate meals of the past or to illustrate how we might be eating in the future. Part culinary romp, part environmental wake-up call, Lost Feast makes a critical contribution to our understanding of food security today. You will never look at what’s on your plate in quite the same way again.

Lenore Newman is the Canada Research Chair in Food Security and Environment at the University of the Fraser Valley. She is the author of the acclaimed Speaking in Cod Tongues: A Canadian Culinary Journey. She divides her time between Vancouver and Roberts Creek, British Columbia.

of 28

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.