has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

March & April 2022 Jr. Top Picks

more
  • Other Formats

    9780735270893 Paperback / softback, Trade paperback (US), $14.99 9781774881354 Downloadable audio file, $23.99 9781774881361 Downloadable audio file 9780735270886 Reflowable, EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: HL690L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UY UZ VA VC VE VG VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: Mar 15, 2022 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

Wrong Side of the Court
By (author): H.N. Khan
H.N. Khan

Imprint:

Penguin Teen Canada

ISBN:

9780735270879

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Teenage: Age (years) 12, Grade (US) 7
Mar 15, 2022
$23.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.56in x 5.81 x 1.06 in | 0.92 lb

Page Count:

312 pages
Penguin Random House Canada Teen
Penguin Teen Canada
YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball
 
Toronto Book Award 2022, Short-listed White Pine Award 2023, Nominated
Fifteen-year-old Fawad has big dreams about being the world’s first Pakistani to be drafted into the NBA. A first-generation Pakistani coming-of-age story for fans of David Yoon and Ben Philippe.

Fifteen-year-old Fawad Chaudhry loves two things: basketball and his mother’s potato and ground beef stuffed parathas. Both are round and both help him forget about things like his father, who died two years ago, his mother’s desire to arrange a marriage to his first cousin, Nusrat, back home in Pakistan, and the tiny apartment in Regent Park he shares with his mom and sister. Not to mention his estranged best friend Yousuf, who’s coping with the shooting death of his older brother.



But Fawad has plans: like, asking out Ashley, even though she lives on the other, wealthier side of the tracks, and saving his friend Arif from being beaten into a pulp for being the school flirt, and making the school basketball team and dreaming of being the world’s first Pakistani to be drafted into the NBA. All he has to do now is convince his mother to let him try out for the basketball team. And let him date girls from his school. Not to mention somehow get Omar, the neighborhood bully, to leave him alone… 

AUTHENTIC VOICE: H.N. Khan writes authentically about being a teen in Regent Park.

BASKETBALL STRONG THEME: Basketball is hugely popular in the US, and in Canada, too!

STAND-OUT SETTING: While Toronto readers will appreciate the setting of Regent Park, literally across the street from Cabbagetown, the setting is less about the specifics and more about the reality of a less-advantaged neighborhood side by side with an affluent one, and how this can impact one’s sense of self.

DELICIOUS FOOD REFERENCES: Who doesn’t love reading about food?

COMPELLING STORY: Fawad’s journey, against a backdrop of gang violence, will keep readers turning the pages.

STRONG TEACHER AND LIBRARIAN APPEAL: Always on the lookout for diverse voices, as well as books that will interest boys, this book will make an excellent addition to the school classroom and library.

H.N. KHAN is a first-time author. Born in Pakistan, he immigrated to Canada at age seven and grew up in Regent Park, a low-income community housing project. After graduating with a business degree he decided to drop out of law school to pursue a career in Toronto’s start-up scene. Since then, he’s helped build and market software that’s used by millions around the world. He is a recent graduate from Humber’s School for Writers’ correspondence program.

Author Residence: Toronto, Ontario

Author Hometown: Pakistan

Marketing: None

Publicity: Pre-pub campaign

Pursue virtual events and festivals

One of CCBC’s Best Books for Kids & Teens (Fall 2022)

“…Wrong Side of the Court is finely crafted and well paced, it’s hard to believe it’s [Khan’s] literary debut…. The writing is crisp and visual, and the story is so well fleshed out.” —STARRED REVIEW, Quill & Quire


“An interesting and heartfelt portrait of a teen yearning to beat the odds.” —Kirkus Reviews

of 10

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.