has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2022 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Aug 30, 2022 On Sale Date: Sep 20, 2022 Carton Quantity: 20 $24.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Aug 30, 2022 On Sale Date: Sep 20, 2022 Carton Quantity: 20 $19.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Nether Regions
By (author): Randal Graham
Randal Graham

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770414716

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Sep 20, 2022
$24.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.92 in | 1.1 lb

Page Count:

408 pages
ECW Press
FICTION / Fantasy / Humorous
Science fiction|Comic (humorous) fantasy|Humorous fiction
Ontario
  • Short Description
Two of the afterlife’s most recognizable souls have the first baby born in the hereafter. The baby holds a secret that brings together history’s most recognizable characters as Socrates sets out on an uproarious quest to assassinate everyone who can remember the mortal world.

Gear up for laughter in the hereafter as Socrates sets out to assassinate every soul who can remember the mortal world

“Filled with wordplay to die for, Randal Graham’s latest dizzying, irresistible life-after-death satire tackles perennial existential questions with humor and hunger.” — Foreword Reviews on Afterlife Crisis

What do you get when a narcissistic megalomaniac plagued by daddy issues leads a horde of angry zealots, xenophobes, and ornery incels on a crusade to Make the Afterlife Great Again? You get an out-of-this-world adventure in which history’s greatest minds face an apocalypse that could make Armageddon look like a cotillion.

You also get Nether Regions, the third installment of Randal Graham’s Beforelife Series. Picking up the threads of Beforelife and Afterlife Crisis, Nether Regions reveals what happens when two of the afterlife’s best-known residents have a baby: the first one born in the hereafter. That baby holds a secret — one that sets off an adventure featuring Socrates, Albert Einstein, Nostradamus, Elizabeth I, Sigmund Freud, Neferneferuaten, and at least 200 Napoleons, all doing their level best to keep the afterlife from turning into hell.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • SOCRATES THE ASSASSIN: The book features historical characters, all convening in the afterlife together with very different motivations, and part of the fun lies in trying to identify each character before their identity is revealed. They include Napoleon, Nostradamus, Hammurabi, Freud, and Einstein.

  • A UNIQUE SETTING: The novel takes place in a version of the afterlife that looks a good deal like the world around us.

  • AWARD-NOMINATED SERIES: Afterlife Crisis and Beforelife, the first two books in the series, were both longlisted for the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour. Beforelife also won the gold medal for fantasy fiction at the Independent Publisher Book Awards.

  • ON BEFORELIFE:
    • “Debut novelist and law professor Graham has hit upon a clever and fruitful concept.” — Kirkus Reviews

    • “Finally, a hitchhiker’s guide to the hereafter. Making a debut as stellar as it is hilarious, Randal Graham proves himself a true Canuckian heir to the magnificently pun-happy merriment of literary pranksters Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, and Jasper Fforde. At once a raucous comedy, thrilling adventure, and meta-commentary on the nature of storytelling, Beforelife is an afterlife to die for.” — Corey Redekop, author of Husk


  • ON AFTERLIFE CRISIS:
    • “Fans of wacky doings and zippy dialogue are sure to be entertained.” — Publishers Weekly

    • Randal Graham has written an inventive and hilarious tale packed with such witty prose that P.G. Wodehouse is surely applauding from his own afterlife. Strap in for a wild and funny ride.” — Terry Fallis, two-time winner of the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour



Audience



  • Graham’s students/former students, colleagues, and contacts at Western University

  • Fans of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, Monty Python, Christopher Moore, P.G. Wodehouse

  • Comic fantasy readers

  • Philosophy enthusiasts

  • Fans of the show The Good Place

  • Readers of previous books in the series

Randal Graham is a law professor at Western University. His first novel, Beforelife, won the IPPY gold medal for fantasy fiction. Both Beforelife and its first sequel, Afterlife Crisis, were top ten finalists for the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour. He lives in London, ON.

of 29

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.