has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

PRHC June 2022 Kids Key Titles (Central)

more
Goodnight Racism
By (author): Ibram X. Kendi Illustrated by: Cbabi Bayoc
Ibram X. Kendi ,

Illustrated by :

Cbabi Bayoc

Imprint:

Kokila

ISBN:

9780593110515

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 3 - 7, Grade (US) P - 2
Jun 14, 2022
$24.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9.31in x 11.38 x 0.36 in | 0.99 lb

Page Count:

32 pages

Illustrations:

FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS
Penguin Young Readers Group
Kokila
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
National Book Award–winning and New York Times bestselling author Ibram X. Kendi (How to Be an Antiracist, Antiracist Baby) returns with a new picture book that serves as a modern bedtime classic.

As children all over the world get ready for bed, the moon watches over them. The moon knows that when we sleep, we dream. And when we dream, we imagine what is possible and what the world can be.



With dynamic, imaginative art and poetic prose, Goodnight Racism delivers important messages about antiracism, justice, and equality in an easy-to-read format that empowers readers both big and small. Goodnight Racism gives children the language to dream of a better world and is the perfect book to add to their social justice toolkit.

For readers of I Am Enough by Grace Byers and An ABC of Equality by Chana Ginelle Ewing, Goodnight Racism does the work of breaking down the hard topic of racism and inequality in an ACCESSIBLE AND SIMPLE way while also using language that EMPOWERS CHILDREN TO ENACT CHANGE.

For parents who are looking for books that not only START PRODUCTIVE CONVERSATIONS ABOUT RACISM AND INJUSTICE, BUT MEANINGFULLY SUSTAIN THEM.

This book is written as a GIFT AND A WISH FOR THE NEXT GENERATION, making it the perfect hopeful bedtime read.

HIGHLY ACCLAIMED AUTHOR: Kendi’s Stamped from the Beginning was a 2016 National Book Award winner for nonfiction, How to Be an Antiracist was a New York Times bestseller and named one of the Best Books of the Year by the New York Times, and Antiracist Baby was also a New York Times bestseller.



There is an ESTABLISHED MARKET for social justice-themed books for children. Goodnight Racism belongs on the same shelf as Antiracist Baby, Woke Baby, Feminist Baby, and Our Skin: A First Conversation About Race.

Illustrator Cbabi Bayoc’s BOLD AND FRESH ILLUSTRATIONS will appeal to young readers and adults alike.

Ibram X. Kendi is a New York Times bestselling author and the Founding Director of the Boston University Center for Antiracist Research. A professor of history and frequent public speaker, Kendi is a contributing writer at the Atlantic. He is the author of Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America, which won the National Book Award for Nonfiction, The Black Campus Movement, which won the W.E.B. Du Bois Book Prize, How to Be an Antiracist, and Antiracist Baby.

Author Residence: Washington D.C.

Cbabi (pronounced Kuh-bob-bi) Bayoc is an internationally-known visual artist and illustrator residing in St. Louis, Missouri. His subjects include family, children, music and a bunch of other cool stuff designed with line, bold color and phunk! Cbabi spends his time working on a variety of projects, including portraits, community murals, school murals, and children’s book illustrations. Learn more at his website cbabibayoc.com or follow him on Instagram @cbabi.

Illustrator Residence: St Louis, MO

Illustrator Hometown: O’Fallon, IL

PRAISE FOR GOODNIGHT RACISM by Ibram X. Kendi and Cbabi Bayoc
An Amazon Best of the Month for June 2022!


“An inspiring read to help realize dreams for a better future for all.” —Kirkus Reviews


“[A] lovely goodnight prayer for children.” – San Francisco Book Review


PRAISE FOR ANTIRACIST BABY
#1 New York Times bestseller
Amazon Editors’ Pick

 
“Smart, wise, and hopeful, a reminder that children are born without racism, and it’s up to us to keep it that way.” — Seira Wilson, Amazon Editor
 
“[Kendi’s] succinct, impactful prose makes for an accessible guide to anti-racism for everyone.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

“Boldly outlined, inclusive illustrations by Lukashevsky complement the text by showing a world populated by people of various skin tones, sizes, identities and orientations, religions, and abilities….[A] mindful companion for families striving together toward a more equitable future.” —Publisher’s Weekly

“Antiracism’s starting point.” —Kirkus Reviews

of 20

Also Available

Book Cover
Goodnight Racism 8-copy Floor Display with Riser Ibram X. Kendi 9780593228845 $199.92 CAD Jun 14, 2022

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.