has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

August 2022 Juvenile Fiction

more
  • Other Formats

    9780593205822 9780593205815 9780593202975 Hardback, $24.99 9780593202982 EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Fountas & Pinnell Text Level Gradient: T Lexile measure: GN380L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date: Aug 30, 2022 Carton Quantity: 24
  • Catalogues

Agent 9: Mind Control!
By (author): James Burks
James Burks

Imprint:

Razorbill

ISBN:

9780593202999

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 7 - 10, Grade (US) 2 - 5
Aug 30, 2022
$17.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9in x 6.06 x 0.54 in | 1.03 lb

Page Count:

192 pages
Razorbill
JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Humorous
New threats, new foes…and a new partner?! This hilarious, action-packed spy series—from the creator of Bird & Squirrel—is perfect for readers who love funny crime-fighting stories like The InvestiGators, The Bad Guys, and Dog Man!

Agent 9 is back in action at the Super-Secret Spy Service, and it couldn’t come at a better time. The next assignment? Stopping the Wolf, a cunning canine who’s been hired by the sinister organization DiViSiON to hunt down the final pieces of a mind-control device. It’s a mission of such paramount importance that Nine must do the unthinkable—work with a partner!



S4 teams up Agent 9 with Traps, a mouse who specializes in covert operations (and knitting too). Unfortunately, the partnership gets off to a rocky start. And despite their best efforts, the Wolf always seems to be one step ahead. With time running out and DiViSiON’s plans to take over the world nearly complete, can Nine overcome the toughest challenge yet: being part of a team?



Series Overview: Spring 2021: Agent 9: Flood-a-Geddon!

Summer 2022: Agent 9: Mind Control!

TALENTED CREATOR WITH MASSIVE APPEAL: Kids of all ages flock to James Burks’s books. His long-running Bird & Squirrel series has sold nearly 400k copies and the Haggis and Tank chapter books he illustrated have sold over 300k. Not only is he a star in the children’s lit world, but James also got his start in animation, working on iconic projects like The Iron Giant and the recent reboot of The Powerpuff Girls—so he has such a great grasp of what entertains children.

ACTION-PACKED & BRIMMING WITH HUMOR: Reminiscent of a Cartoon Network show, Agent 9 has pitch-perfect humor that will keep kids laughing from one page to the next. It also has plenty of nonstop action to keep them on the edge of their seats. Give this to kids who love zany adventures like Dog Man and Hilo, as well as readers who enjoy slightly more serious fare like Mighty Jack and Zita the Spacegirl.



FRIENDSHIP IS FUN: Agent 9 is used to working alone. By being partnered with Traps, readers will not only get to see Nine learn teamwork, but also how to make a friend! Traps’s enthusiasm and (literally) cheesy jokes will immediately win kids over, just like they eventually win over Nine.

LEVELED-UP BADDIES: This book has an even more awesome array of villains than the first. There’s quirky mad scientist octopus IQ, ruthless rogue agent the Wolf, and the mysterious figure pulling all the strings as the head of DiViSiON. Kids will love to see Agent 9 go up against this menacing menagerie!

GADGETS GALORE: A spy story wouldn’t be complete without cool gadgets, and Agent 9 doesn’t disappoint, with everything from a flying droid named FiN to tricked-out rides to a fun arsenal of gum pods and freezing cubes. And the villains in this story are working on the coolest and most worrisome tech of all: a mind-control device!

James Burks is a master of disguise. He’s spent over twenty years working undercover in the animation industry on movies and television shows, including Bravest Warriors, Space Jam, Treasure Planet, The Emperor’s New Groove, and The Iron Giant. He’s also the mastermind behind the popular Bird & Squirrel graphic novel series. He lives with his family in a secret base hidden on an ordinary street somewhere in Southern California. You can visit him at jamesburks.com.

Author Residence: Valencia, California

Marketing: National media campaign 

Online promotion and social media outreach 

Promotion at consumer festivals 

Librarian and educator outreach 

Praise for the Agent 9 series!

"Funny, adorable, and action-packed!" —Kazu Kibuishi, #1 New York Times bestselling creator of the Amulet series

"MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! Agent 9 is full of fun and adventure!" Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm, New York Times bestselling co-creators of the Babymouse and the Sunny series

"Agent 9 is a fast-paced adventure with a slick visual style and great humor all wrapped into one!" Dan Santat, Caldecott Medalist and New York Times bestselling creator of The Aquanaut and The Adventures of Beekle

"Every kid will see themselves in this feisty, mischievous cat. Action, adventure, and plenty of laughs in this well-crafted, super fun world." LeUyen Pham, Caldecott Honoree and New York Time bestselling co-creator of Real Friends and the Princess in Black series

"Agent 9 bolts, bounds, andmore oftenexplodes through every hilarious page in this welcome new addition to the spy genre. Burks is at the height of his creative prowess." Mike Maihack, creator of the Cleopatra in Space series

“A delightful graphic romp. With a blend of thrilling chase scenes and a generous helping of humor, this crowd pleaser should be catnip to fans of series like Aaron Blabey’s The Bad Guys. Spy aficionados will find this purr-fect.” Kirkus on Flood-a-Geddon!

"Sure to make readers gasp and giggle. While escapes, explosions, and scribbly, jewel-toned art will no doubt draw in younger readers, Burks’ dry humor will also keep a more sophisticated crowd engaged and chuckling. Readers will be sure to keep an eye out for 9’s next adventure, but they’ll definitely want to give this first romp a few rereads in the meantime." —BCCB

"Burks delivers an endearing tale about a secret agent character a la James Bond, but much zanier. Fans of Burks’ Bird & Squirrel series will gobble up this new offering. [It] will elicit chuckles from young and old readers alike." —School Library Connection

"Hooray, for Agent 9! This is a good old-fashioned spy thriller but with a hero that has a lot of learning to do. And you can believe that this cat may scratch and claw its way into your top picks." —Elizabeth Bird, Fuse 8, an SLJ Blog

"Zippier than a roomful of kittens on catnip, with fast-paced, full-color wordless sequences. This is a fully self-contained adventure with a smile-inducing resolution. A teamwork tale that is the cat’s meow" Kirkus on Mind Control!

of 524

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.