has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Take Cover PRH fall 2022 Middle Grade-YA titles

more
PAWS: Mindy Makes Some Space
By (author): Nathan Fairbairn Illustrated by: Michele Assarasakorn
Nathan Fairbairn ,

Illustrated by :

Michele Assarasakorn

Imprint:

Razorbill

ISBN:

9780593351932

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 8 - 12, Grade (US) 3 - 7
Nov 15, 2022
$17.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

7.94in x 5.5 x 0.45 in | 0.52 lb

Page Count:

176 pages
Razorbill
JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Humorous
Are you a fan of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale? Then you won’t want to miss the second book in this graphic novel series that’s the Baby-Sitters Club for pets! Your favorite dog-walkers are back with even more cute animals—and even more friendship and family drama—in this funny and heartwarming story perfect for fans of Real Friends, Roller Girl, and Allergic!

Best friends Mindy Park, Gabby Jordan, and Priya Gupta are back in business! After a few ups and downs, their dog-walking business is booming and the girls are closer than ever. It’s a dream come true!

But for Mindy, things at home are beginning to feel like a bit of a nightmare. Her mom just started dating someone, which has Mindy feeling like the odd one out. For as long as she can remember, it’s been just the two of them and she doesn’t want that to change. (So what if her mom’s boyfriend has a cute pet cat, and all of Mindy’s friends seem to think he’s pretty cool?)

And things only get worse when a new student named Hazel arrives in class and seems totally into joining PAWS. Sharing her mom feels bad enough, so there’s no way Mindy’s is going to share her best friends and her business, too! But when Mindy’s stubbornness starts to hurt everyone around her, will she be able to overcome her fears and learn that change doesn’t have to be a cat-tastrophe?

BLOCKBUSTER POTENTIAL!: Girl-driven contemporary graphic novels are HUGE, and there are so few animal-related stories in the market. With a diverse cast, authentic friendship story, and plenty of adorable pups, this is the perfect next read for fans of the Baby-Sitters Club series, Smile, Roller Girl, Invisible Emmie, Real Friends, Camp, and the list goes on.

UNIQUE COLLABORATION: This isn’t your average author-illustrator team. Nathan is writing the script with Michelle’s input, and she’s drawing while he colors and letters. (And Nathan’s coloring work has been nominated for an Eisner Award!)

WELL-CONNECTED CREATORS: While PAWS is Nathan’s and Michele’s debut children’s book series, they’re renowned comic book creators who’ve worked with every major US comic publisher, including Marvel, DC, Image, Dark Horse, Oni, and Boom. We can utilize their numerous relationships in that industry to extend our reach even further.

ANIMAL-LOVERS UNITE: Any kid who’s ever begged for a dog—or any pet at all—will instantly empathize with the girls of PAWS! And they won’t be able to get enough of our doggos—Pickles, Carl, Corporal Wags, Roxy, and Scraps—who each have their own unique personalities that make them oh-so-lovable. And cat-lovers won’t be left out either with the introduction of the adorable Chonk in this book. 

DIVERSE CAST: Mindy, Gabby, and Priya each come from different backgrounds and cultures, live in different circumstances, and have different family structures, ensuring a broad range of readers can see themselves in this story. And in this sequel, we meet Hazel, a new classmate and potential member of the PAWS team who uses a wheelchair.

FOR YOUNG ENTREPENEURS: This story will inspire young entrepreneurs, showing them that with a little hard work they can turn their passions into a thriving business.

ACCELERATED SCHEDULE: We currently have three books signed up. We want to keep readers constantly engaged with the series, so we’re publishing them on a nine-month schedule.

Nathan Fairbairn is a New York Times bestselling and Eisner-nominated creator who has worked as a colorist for such iconic characters as Spider-Man, Batman, Wonder Woman, and Scott Pilgrim. He’s also co-creator, writer, and colorist of the graphic novel Lake of Fire. He started writing PAWS, his middle grade debut, as a way to share his passion for comics and storytelling with his daughter. Nathan lives with his family in Vancouver. You can follow him on Twitter and Instagram (@NathanFairbairn) and see more of his work at nathanfairbairn.com.

Author Residence: Vancouver, Canada

Michele Assarasakorn (also known as MSASSYK) is colorist who worked on comic series such as Eisner-nominated Isola, Gotham Academy, and the Magnificent Ms. Marvel. Originally from Bangkok, Thailand, Michele now calls Vancouver home but also likes to travel the world working remotely as an artist. You can follow her on Twitter and Instagram (@Msassyk) and see more of her work at msassyk.com.

Illustrator Residence: Vancouver, Canada

Illustrator Hometown: Bangkok, Thailand

Marketing: 6-copy prepack with L-card (9780525489566; $77.94, $107.94 CAN) 

National media campaign 

Consumer advertising campaign 

Online promotion and social media outreach 

Librarian and educator outreach 

Praise for the PAWS series:

★ “Reminiscent of Ann M. Martin’s The Baby-Sitters Club, this series starter will be a surefire hit with Raina Telgemeier fans and any reader seeking a solid friendship story. Laugh-out-loud funny and full of heart.” School Library Journal, starred review

★ “
Wholly relatable, perfectly capturing the angst and turmoil of transition. Much like Ann M. Martin’s Baby Sitters Club, this series is poised to feature a different PAWS member in each volume; expect appeal to be similarly high. An honest, heartwarming look at friendship.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The story is refreshingly inclusive in its depiction of its distinctive characters and their families, offering a reflection of the world that many readers will find familiar. With expressive faces and body language, the artwork poignantly emphasizes the ups and downs of the girls’ experiences. This truly heartwarming story about friendship (and lots and lots of dogs) is a great choice for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale.” Booklist

“It’s fantastic, it’s cute, it’s drawn and colored gorgeously, and I think it’s going to win a lot of fans. PAWS is here to stay!” —Bryan Lee O’Malley, #1 New York Times bestseller and Eisner award-winning creator of the Scott Pilgrim series
 
“PAWS is an adorable graphic novel filled with bubbly, beautiful artwork, sharp writing, heart and humor. It’s the comic I wish I’d had when I was an animal-loving kid!” —Faith Erin Hicks, New York Times bestseller and Eisner award-winning creator of the Nameless City series

”What’s a bigger, tougher balance of fun and responsibility than animals? Friends, maybe. And I was really rooting for the three girls from PAWS as they struggled to navigate both. I liked this book a lot!“ —Dana Simpson, New York Times bestselling creator of the Phoebe and Her Unicorn series

”PAWS is full of humor, personality, and wonderful characters. I couldn’t put it down. You’ll have a barking good time reading PAWS!“ —Johnnie Christmas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Swim Team

”I love this story. Funny, aspirational, and heartfelt, I was hooked from page one and enjoyed every wonderfully illustrated panel!“—Kris Pearn, director and executive producer of The Willoughbys

”A really beautiful and engaging story. The best thing I can say about PAWS is that my daughter likes it better than anything I’ve ever done, and I’m not arguing the point.“ —Karl Kerschl, Eisner award-winning creator

”[A] lively graphic novel. The characters feel bouncy and rounded. Animal lovers, burgeoning entrepreneurs, and fans of friendship sagas should look forward to planned future installments." The Horn Book

of 36

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.